We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal at a cozy spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheep Station

Sheep Station
149 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3107
718-857-4337
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #416 of 4,108 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
Katy TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent meal at a cozy spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This began as a convenient place to walk to but ended up as a very pleasant meal. My husband ordered pork chops. He loved them. I ate light with a Caesar salad with a side of roasted potatoes. Fresh! The chocolate cheesecake was so delish. Can't wait to go back. (Cash only)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and chill in Gowanus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

we was in the neighborhood for Saturday eve walk and than we walk into this place. Great service and lovely things to eat. We took the burger that came with lots of fries and extras for 11$ and nice chicken sandwich with fries for 13$. It's all in Australian flavor. Great and cheap beers and good music also. Very recommended. There is also lunch specials.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good on ya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was wandering around Brooklyn on a warm October Sunday and was in need of a beer and some grub, and as if by magic, here was the answer. Unpretentious, down to earth ( like Aussies are) this pub on 4th avenue in Brooklyn serves up great grub and fine suds. I had the grilled salmon salad washed down with the seasonal October beer. Excellent. Simple surroundings, friendly staff. It is a bit off the usual tourist track - but if they moved to a high tourist area - nah, it might spoil the place - it would get overrun by foreigners like me! Better kept as a local secret. Shhh! Only kidding. Make the effort to find it and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Down Under @ the Sheep Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I met a client to speak about Ambit and successfulsaving.com at the Sheep Station in Brooklyn, New York. You walk in the doors and you see wide pine plank floors with a distressed look and corrugated metal on the walls and furniture that takes you to Australia. You meet the owner and his accent begins to tie it all together. The Shearer's burger is wonderful and the Aussie Styles pies are a family favorite.There is a comfortable enviornment and rustic feel that leaves you wanting more. Leave the Sheep Station and you are back to the daily grind of NYC.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Food - Outback Shack Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had the Shearer’s Burger ($11) for lunch here a few weeks ago and liked it a lot. Today, I tried the roasted leg of lamb sandwich from the lunch menu for $15 (it came with choice of salad or fries).

The Shearer's Burger has lettuce, tomato, beet, a fried egg, carmelized onions and pineapple in it. I'm not a big fan of onions and the idea of an egg in my hamburger is nauseating, so I had them hold those two items. The burger was juicy and had great flavor. One thing to watch out for, however, is the beet juice which bleeds out and can cause difficult to remove stains on your clothes.

My lamb sandwich was delicious, but on the small side. I found it a bit expensive for the size.

They have a chalkboard over the bar with dozens of beers – many exotic sounding – listed, although I didn’t see “Goose Island Honker Ale” this time. Given the many beer choices, and given further that I was in a bit of a decadent mood, today I decided to wash my lunch down with a bottle of Bud Light ($5).

The interior of the place reminds me a bit of the Smoke Joint in nearby Fort Greene: The ambiance is that of a shack in the Adirondacks. They even offer Genesee beer, just like in the Adirondacks. But the sign out front says this is an Australian place, so I guess they’re really trying to recreate a shack in the Outback.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheep Station also viewed

 

Been to Sheep Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheep Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.