We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a Special Birthday Celebration.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dressler - CLOSED

Dressler
149 Broadway, Brooklyn, NY 11211-8249
718-384-6343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bedford and Driggs
Transit: J-M-Z Subway to Marcy Avenue (1st stop in Brooklyn); L Subway to Bedford (1st stop in Brooklyn)
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a Special Birthday Celebration.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I booked this Restaurant from Australia because of all the great reviews I had read. I wanted a special Restaurant for my husband's Birthday while we were visiting New York. I was delighted at the level of service we received. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We were both thrilled at our dining experience at Dressler restaurant. It was the right choice for this special occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth Leaving Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On the edge of gentrified Williamsburg Brooklyn, Dressler has established itself as a prime example of modern dining combining market fresh ingredients, inventive preparation and personal service. The environment has a whimsical feel with intricately cut steel fleur-de-lis patterns that on closer examination incorporate Alice in Wonderland images. Like Alice your culinary trip down the rabbit hole will yield unexpected parings and leave changed about your perceptions of Brooklyn cuisine. Brunch is my personal favorite as it is somewhat less esoteric and the preparation is always perfect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston,wv
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“elegant dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to Dressler on a Sunday evening and was impressed by the simlple elegance, crisp friendlyservice and imaginative, if somewhat limited menu...which means what they do fix is excellent! A great place for that special dinner!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Worst service we've experienced at a restaurant ever! We visited Dressler for a post wedding gathering for brunch. The restaurant was packed and it became very obvious very fast that the wait staff were not coping with a restaurant stretched beyond it's limits. On arrival our party ordered a variety of coffees - 20 minutes later some of our group were still waiting for their beverage. Our indifferent and very snotty server informed us there are only 2 espresso machines hence the delay. We then placed our brunch order. We waited 90 minutes for our food to be served. The manageress made excuses about new kitchen staff not being able to cope with the deluge of orders in the kitchen. Seriously??? We watched several other tables seated well after our arrival get their meals while the clock ticked on our order. We enquired several times about our order the response was always "ready in 10 minutes." We were so stressed and frustrated by the time our food arrived that no one in our group could begin to enjoy their meal. Such a shame since the food was actually presented very nicely and was actually very tasty. The manageress did comp our group's meals - the very least they could do after such a disastrous and disappointing end to a fun wedding weekend in Brooklyn.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful night...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great atmosphere, delicious food, and excellent drink menu. Staff were attentive and friendly which allowed for a fantastic evening. Can't say enough about the quality of the food. Perhaps the best cheesecake I've ever had - I'll be dreaming about that brown sugar crust for a long time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dressler also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dressler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.