We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful night...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dressler

Dressler
149 Broadway, Brooklyn, NY 11211-8249
718-384-6343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #219 of 4,411 restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bedford and Driggs
Transit: J-M-Z Subway to Marcy Avenue (1st stop in Brooklyn); L Subway to Bedford (1st stop in Brooklyn)
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful night...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great atmosphere, delicious food, and excellent drink menu. Staff were attentive and friendly which allowed for a fantastic evening. Can't say enough about the quality of the food. Perhaps the best cheesecake I've ever had - I'll be dreaming about that brown sugar crust for a long time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    54
    27
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillerod, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great but "french portions" (small)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The place deserve the Michelin star. We had very interesting food and great wine served pr. glass. The service was also great. The portions are though somewhat small. We had starters, main course and dessert and I could have eathen more...And I'm not a giant or carry overweight!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, very relaxed, very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Dressler is a really nice, comfortable restaurant - no pretenses - just a cool, intimate little place which is very relaxed and welcoming. The staff are friendly and attentive without being overbearing and the food is fantastic! I had the steak and veal cheek and it was the best meat dish I have ever eaten, the flavours worked perfectly. I would also highly recommend the scallops starter. I went here for my 30th birthday (visiting from England) after seeing the menu (and thinking I could eat every dish!) and after also having read about the place on line. I wasn't disappointed! The cocktails were great, the atmosphere was great and the food fantastic. I also thought it was very good value for the quality of food and service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice vibe, great brunch, friendly service- bonus wine store next door!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went for brunch. Eggs benny & another version with some amazing smoked salmon - everything tasted so fresh and intentionally cooked,,, and for someone who likes 'poached medium' and never gets it, FINALLY a winner! Super wine list from multiple countries & waiter knew his stuff to steer us through it. A bit noisy if you sit outside but the place is charming and low key. Pop in the wine store next store.......tons of boutique wines and really great prices. Thanks Trip Advisors for steering us in this direction, we likely wouldn't have found it. Drive around Bedford street after, some great choices for a cocktail/unique shops.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dressler provides you with Lasting Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

In my top three list of best restaurants in Williamsburg, the Dressler will never disappoint you. Be prepared for a robust meal... the courses are prepared with excellence and the scallop dish is by far one of my favorites. I haven't had an appetizer I didn't like... the crab cake is phenomenal, the salad is divine, the drinks are fabulous and the main courses leave you plenty satisfied. The entrees are rich, flavorful and filling... but leave room for dessert, it's worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dressler also viewed

 

Been to Dressler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dressler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.