We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fried Chicken!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidecar

Sidecar
560 5th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11215
(718) 369-0077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #749 of 4,411 restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bistro
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Niagara Falls, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Discovered this place on the DD&D website and decided to check it out since we were staying down on 3rd ave, a couple of blocks away. The owner greeted us at the front door which was a nice touch. The inside of the place is well set up with a full bar and tables/booths. The kitchen is open concept which is really cool and you can literally watch them prepare your food. I ordered a beer and the fried chicken which had some really good reviews. The chicken was no less than awesome and definitely the best I've had since being down south in Tennessee! The kale with bacon was amazing too! as well as the mashed potatoes. I can't say enough good stuff about this meal! Anyway give it a try you won't go wrong ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    4
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, Service, creative cocktail, very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been multiple times to Sidecar both for dinner and brunch.
The staff has always been welcoming and professional
Service is discreet and fast.
The cocktail variety is amongst the strong points. It is one of my favourite cocktail places in NY. They also have a great rotating selection of cocktail. I typically go for a new suggestion and I have never been disappointed.
The Gravlax, the Oysters, the sidecard salad, the Sidecar BLT are just fresh, tasting and fresh.
Definitely a great place to go for dinner and brunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Its great to have a neighborhood place that serves good, innovative, drinks with better-than-bar food! Went last Saturday evening - got there at 6:30 and every table plus most of the bar was full. Sidecar has a very attentive manager/host who told us 30 minutes for a table. Had a nice bourbon drink at the bar along with the white bean & bacon dip - definitely upgrade with the bacon! Good house-made chips too. Less than 30 minutes later - we were seated. Very good salads followed by good gumbo. Very flavorful but a little light on the shrimp & sausage. More consistently good drinks.
All in all, well worth the visit & will be back...the Cuban sandwich looked amazing at it passed by...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good, worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited on 12/12/12. Great ambience, great service. Had the brandade, Cuban, and bacon cheeseburger. All were delicious! My girlfriend had a crazy jalapeño/cucumber margarita. Stupendous. Will definitely come back next time we are in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed Twice in Local Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really wanted to like this restaurant, local to a neighborhood we visit frequently. But having tried it twice, we will not be going back. The ambience of the place is nice--basically modern and cozy--but kept fairly dark. The kitchen/grill is in full view of patrons either for interest or space. The menu is pricey for the uninspired meals: cheeseburger, Cuban sandwich, Club, and others. The cheeseburger, served luke warm, should have had more to justify the $14 price. The Club was said to have interesting ingredients such as apple and sun dried tomato mayo in addition to the usual turkey, bacon, and cheese, but none were apparent either in the dim light of our booth or to our tastebuds. At first bite, the bacon, thick, leathery and cold, basiclaly tore the sandwich apart. The Club was also served on two rather than stacked on three pieces of bread, and the bread was thick and, again, chewy. Not only did it lack taste, it was too darn hard to eat without spilling all over myself. I left half of it. The Cubano sandwich was too large for one person and, for $15, tasted so-so. The wine we choose was pricey for its blah taste. The $8 glass of chardanay was lackluster and skimpy. Another problem with this small restaurant was the volume of the music. In a restauarant, as opposed to a bar perhaps, people like to talk to one another. This was hardly possible. All in all, the dark environment, the mediocre-to-poor food, the noise--have us deciding that twice is definitely enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidecar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sidecar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidecar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.