We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Butler Street, Brooklyn, NY 11217 (Formerly Comfort Inn Brooklyn Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Basically comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great price to stay in Brooklyn. We were in town for a funeral so it was convenient for us. Parking is $35 a day, but a good insurance policy if you are going to be in and out a lot. Not fancy or modern, but convenient and comfortable. The staff is great, friendly and helpful. We were on the 4th floor, no noise issues. If you stretch, you can see Manhattan from your room :)

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms were quiet. One slow elevator so if you are in a hurry, stay low or plan to take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    21
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed at this hotel valentines day weekend 2015, and have to say how fab this hotel is, rooms are not very big but adequate. conveniently located, near a subway station so you could get anywhere in new york very easily.The staff are amazing and so friendly, couldn't do enough to help, even helping my son to get his own breakfast. he's 8 and likes to be independent, but can't quite manage it, but won't accept any help off me. housekeeping had a bit of a disaster out of their control while we were there which delayed a few people from checking in, but they all worked really hard and stayed past their leaving time to put things right, altho i do appreciate this might have been inconvenient for some people, without going into detail, it was beyond their control and like i say all the staff went above and beyond the situation to rectify it as quickly as possible. definitely recommended

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Very nice hotel. Super friendly staff, good breakfast and very clean. Slight downside is that's it kind if isolated....in an industrial area, but only a few blocks from restaurants, bars and shopping. Only a 10 minute walk to Barkley Center during which I felt safe even at night.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Located in the residential area of Brooklyn this hotel is very basic. Forget modern decor or fancy design. It is 10 min walks from the Atlantic subway station and shopping center.
The rooms are not big and the furniture can be more practical and new, but all is clean.
The staff is kind and helpful.
If you are not too choosy, it is a good budget place to stay in Brooklyn for a few days.

Room Tip: Room 609 on the last 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The hotel offers minimal amenities however for the price it's a nice stay the staff are loverly and the rooms are very comfy. The hotel is clean and well presented, if u want breakfast I suggest u get down early to make sure u get a table, and if u end up with a room next to the ice machine, I'd ask for a move before you get woken up in the middle of the night by the mad person who needs ice at 3am, other than that it's only a few blocks from the subway and worth the money it is, the overall area is not to rough during the day and there is a nice cheap pizza place and mini mart up the road for basic food and drinks. Overall a good stay, would return and stay again in a different room.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Brooklyn Downtown. We apperciate your feedback, and happy that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Thank you,

Comfort Inn Brooklyn-downtown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband and I were a little nervous walking to the hotel from the metro station even thought it was early afternoon. The street the hotel is located on is very industrial with graffiti all over the buildings and garbage all over the street, The hotel itself is small but I thought it was very clean. Our king room was very small, pretty much just enough room for the bed and a wardrobe, TV stand/ drawers and a small desk and chair opposite the bed with just enough room to walk around the bed. We stayed for 2 nights with not much luggage so space was not much of an issue. if you were there for a week with a lot of luggage, you would not have room. The breakfast room is very small and cramped and difficult to maneuver around to get anything. The bathroom was average size but very clean. I expected there to be a lot of sirens and noise at night, but it was actually a very quiet neighborhood. Lots of pubs and restaurants a few blocks up on 4th and 5th ave. A few doors banging during the night but that is rude guests, not the hotels fault. Housekeeping does start early and was fairly noisy, knocked on the door despite Do Not Disturb sign to ask if we were checking out, 1 hour before checkout time. One other note, we asked the desk to call a cab for us around 7 PM. the driver arrived in a black sedan. There was no meter in the vehicle and he charged us $25. for a 17 min drive to Williamsburg. The cab drive back in a metered vehicle using the same route was $16 so I would arrange for your own cab.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, General Manager at Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Brooklyn Downtown. Overall, your stay was pretty enjoyable. You were able to enjoy a lot of the restaurants in town as we have over 150 that will deliver to you. The neighborhood is part of Park Slope, and although somewhat industrial, it's very quiet in a very busy and eclectic part of town.

With regards to your question about luggage, we can always reconfigure your room to make space for any extra luggage. That is a quick fix for the wonderful staff at the Comfort Inn.

We are undergoing a renovation that will only add to our appeal as of Jan. 20. We hope to see you again really soon.

Thank you for your time and consideration,

Comfort Inn Brooklyn-Downtown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We've book 4 days at Comfort inn Brooklin being the best choice with breakfast included for December. The hotel in at 3 metro stops from the famous Wall st. From where you can take a 3 min walk to WTC monument and the new WTC building called ONE WORLD TRADE CENTER.
The hotel is in a very quiet place at about 5 min walk from Atlantic Terminal where is also the Barclays commercial center. From there you can take metro to all directions needed. So from this point of view I'll give ten stars if possible. Our room was near elevator and Coke dispenser. We hear some noise from the coke dispenser during the night but nothing so disturbing. The room was worm enough for the month of December.The heater of the room was powerful enough to keep the room warm all nigh long. Wifi connection is free of charge but is not so brilliant so we didn't use it. Finally all i could say in one word: RECOMMENDED

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Brooklyn Downtown. We apperciate your response, we are happy that you loved your stay. It's our job to make every guest leaves happy, and happy we did that for you.

Thank you,

Comfort Inn Brooklyn-Downtown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown

Address: 279 Butler Street, Brooklyn, NY 11217 (Formerly Comfort Inn Brooklyn Bridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Brooklyn Downtown is a 104-room property located between historic Park Slope Brooklyn and Cobble Hill and is the closest hotel to the Barclays Center. The hotel is a recently opened CHOICE property. Our pet friendly, Comfort Inn Brooklyn-Downtown is conveniently located close to Atlantic/Barclay's subway station which also services the Long Island Railroad. The hotel is close to Metrotech, Fulton Street Mall, Long Island University, Botanical Gardens, the Brooklyn Bridge, Brooklyn Academy of Music and Prospect Park. Enjoy all that Brooklyn has to offer with convenient access into Manhattan. Limited self-parking available (at an affordable fee). Free wireless and hard-wired Internet. Conveniently located within walking distance of over 150 restaurants, lounges and shopping, government and corporate offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Brooklyn Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.