We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motor Lodge style Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3003 Emmons Ave, Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #24 of 51 hotels in Brooklyn
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Motor Lodge style Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This 3 story corner hotel is a conversion from a Motor Lodge with outside weather protected room access and subterranean and 2nd level open parking; one elevator. The conversion is about 15 years old. The front entrance has many steps and no ramp; lobby access is recommended via the 2nd level parking area it is on the same level as the lobby. The room we had was very clean and everything worked. Don't expect luxury here; just an adequate room across from the water front in Sheepshead Bay. Breakfasts were average; they will be better when they are back in the basement area after hurricane Sandy repairs. BM3 bus across the street takes you to Manhattan in Greyhound bus style; very inexpensive ride. Many neighborhood restaurants are within walking distance due to the proximity to the bay. Sport fishing and harbor/bay cruises are near by. If you have business or family in Sheepshead Bay this hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
23
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had booked a non-smoking room with king bed for my wife and I for the weekend while we attended my friend's wedding. When we arrived the guy at the front desk said, "So you reserved a smoking room double bed, right?" I said that I did not and showed them my confirmation. They proceeded to tell me my confirmation email (which they sent me) was wrong and I must have made a mistake booking the room. Are you kidding me?? They sent us to a room in the basement that smelled like the Marlboro man died in it. I went back to front desk and argued with them for a while, after which I was told that even though I screwed up they would put us in a non-smoking room both nights, we'd just have to change rooms on Saturday. I said fine and we moved into a non-smoking room that night.

Well, I get up on Saturday morning and there's a new woman at the desk. I tell her the story and ask when we should change rooms, and she tells me she doesn't know what I'm talking about and there are no non-smoking rooms available tonight. After some more obnoxious back-and-forth she calls the manager and he says to leave our luggage in our room and they will move it to a new non-smoking room while we're at the wedding. I said fine.

We get back from the wedding and the manager is there and actually apologizes to me (which is why this a 2 star review instead of a 1) and tells me they've given me a (small) discount on the room. My wife and I go up to the room and honestly it smells kind of like smoke (although not as bad as the first) but we're just too tired to argue anymore. Had I gotten an apology from the start I would have felt better about this place, but to be told by multiple employees that my confirmation email sent them was wrong and it was my fault was just ridiculous.

Oh, and the hotel itself is not in great shape - the elevators don't work, etc. - I understand it was damaged by Sandy, but regardless it doesn't seem to be fully restored at this point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I didn't have a problem with my stay. Stayed four nights, the breakfasts were great. The subway was a 20 minute walk, which I didn't mind. I walked other parts of Brooklyn and those streets were just dirty. My room was cleaned every day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotrun, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Although I have stayed at this hotel many times, I hadn't been there in about a year and a half. Hotel was booked so I called Manager, Sunny. Sunny hooked me up and confirmed me in a nice room with 2 beds. The room was spotless, the bed clean and soft, with tons of pillows and the bathroom was clean and well stocked. The whole room smelled clean - kind of like ivory soap. The front desk was very accomodating and even remembered my name as I came and went. Breakfast was perfect - hot eggs and bacon and a toasted bagel. coffee was good too. All way round, I was not in the least bit disappointed and was very comfortable in my room and felt very welcome and appreciated. Excellent job to all staff, even the ladies cleaning the rooms made sure to say good morning and have a nice day! Loved it then, love it even more now. Thanks Sunny!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you are looking for a dump, this place is it. While staying here I was eaten alive by bedbugs. When I mentioned that I would be leaving early due to this fact, they called me a liar AND attempted to charge me for the remaining nights, saying I had prepaid. Anytime I asked to speak with a manager, they were never in. "When will they be in?" "Oh we wouldn't know, they come in whenever they want." was the response, only to find out they were in fact the manager! This place is a joke..... and don't even get me started on the parking.... just find another place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very basic motel hotel. My room opened to parking. Cheap property. Parking was horrible. Limited spaces that were blocked and very small. Outdoor wet carpet from lobby to room. I could not connect to wifi and the girl at the desk couldn't help. The next am the desk clerk said the previous staff should have reset the server. Basically just a place to sleep. It was newer so it wasn't all bad but for the price I was disappointed.

Room Tip: There are basement floors. Dungeon. First floor open to parking. Second floor have glass covering
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

While my wife & I were delighted to see that Brooklyn now has more hotels to chose from, this Best Western is great because it is located in a wonderful area of Sheepshead Bay. The staff were very accomodating with a wonderful attitiude. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The ree breakfast was more than adequate. There were two problems-one was limited parking. We got back to the hotel late one night and had a problem with parking. We ended up parking down in the staff area in a spot that wasn't a real spot or our choice was to park in the street. The second problem were small bugs found in the bathroom. We informed them to exterminate.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back of the hotel. The front faces a main street where buses start goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel

Address: 3003 Emmons Ave, Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this waterfront Brooklyn, New York hotel offering convenient access to key attractions such as Coney Island, the Statue of Liberty and Brighton Beach. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is a brand new hotel located on the waterfront of New York's Long Island area. This Brooklyn hotel offers convenient access to a variety of local restaurants and shopping within the surrounding resort-style neighborhood. Each of the 48 well-appointed loft guest rooms features cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access.Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel will find an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, a 24 hour fitness center and business services. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is ideally situated just one mile from local beaches including Brighton Beach and the beaches at Sheepshead Bay. Guests staying at this New York hotel can spend the day in New York City, just 15 miles away, to visit attractions such as the Rockefeller Center and the Guggenheim Museum. Locally, guests will enjoy touring the Brooklyn Museum or spending the afternoon at Coney Island, only one mile from the hotel. This Long Island hotel also offers convenient access to Kingsborough Community College and Coney Island University. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Brooklyn, New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.