We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3003 Emmons Ave, Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

While my wife & I were delighted to see that Brooklyn now has more hotels to chose from, this Best Western is great because it is located in a wonderful area of Sheepshead Bay. The staff were very accomodating with a wonderful attitiude. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The ree breakfast was more than adequate. There were two problems-one was limited parking. We got back to the hotel late one night and had a problem with parking. We ended up parking down in the staff area in a spot that wasn't a real spot or our choice was to park in the street. The second problem were small bugs found in the bathroom. We informed them to exterminate.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back of the hotel. The front faces a main street where buses start goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
36
28
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Prior to our arrival, I had requested the room be cleaned for allergies, which I was assured was not a problem. Upon our arrival I examined the room, noticing a faint smell of smoke coming from the bathroom combined with a visual of a bit of mold on the shower curtain, I could see "how well" the front desk clerk cared for our needs. We hoped that the smell would subside, by morning, it smelled as if the room had gone to a bar partaking in a smoking contest the night before. Another desk clerk said that maybe a candle was lit to "cleanse" the room. Wanting to start our sightseeing as soon as possible, we asked for another room. We left our phone number with the clerk for the manager to call us to discuss our displeasure thus far. Cutting to the chase, we left our number with each clerk on a daily basis, given excuse after excuse as to why we never received a call from the manager, even to the point where we were told that messages were left on our hotel phone, which was not the case at all. Here's the kicker, upon finally getting to speak to the manager, practically chasing him down in the lobby, he explained that he was on his vacation and didn't work so he couldn't call me. Either we were lied to about him getting the messages the entire time or he was trying to dodge any resolution. I had to call corporate to get any kind of straight response from the front office. The only positive was that the cleaning staff was nice and one clerk was trying to be as helpful as possible. They still haven't called back directly to resolve this with me. We are beyond disappointed and will make sure to avoid this poor choice at all costs (pun intended).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were delighted with our stay here! The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The front desk staff are friendly and very efficient and helpful. The room is beautiful, the size is appropriate for the location and the widows open!

The location is nice with great restaurant options within walking distance. There is free parking and some very clever vending machines.

Don't hesitate to book here!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Spent one night at BWP Brooklyn Bay Hotel, and it was a very pleasant one! We chose this hotel for its proximity to Coney Island. Room was nice, clean & comfortable, staff was helpful and friendly, breakfast was good! Free parking on-site was so convenient. Bathroom towels had a slight off-scent, could have been the kind of detergent? But otherwise, no complaints! If staying over for Coney Island attractions and looking for a hotel with a reasonable price, this BWP is a great choice.

Room Tip: The hotel has 3 floors. I requested a 3rd floor room to perhaps minimize noise, but it was a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Brooklyn Bay Hotel is a relatively standard motel-style inn across Emmons Ave. from Sheepshead Bay in Brooklyn. I stayed for two nights as part of a block of 19 rooms reserved for a conference.

Access to most of the rooms in the 4-story hotel is via standard exterior concrete walkways, but the hotel management has thoughtfully installed moveable clear plastic windbreaks along the outside of the walkways to prevent guests from getting wet in rain or snow.

The management was very helpful and accommodating in arranging the block of rooms, even making adjustments after the deadline date. The front desk staff was courteous, friendly and efficient at check-in and check-out.

My room was small, but exceptionally clean and nicely furnished--a pleasant surprise given the rather standard appearance of the exterior of the building. The bed was comfortably firm. There were plenty of pillows, extra blankets, and towels in the bathroom. Plenty of hot water for the shower, too.

Breakfast was another pleasant surprise, given the usual fare at motel breakfasts. Though the breakfast room was small, there were hot scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon available, and a waffle maker was hot and ready. In addition, the breakfast bar offered a selection of cold cereals, yogurt, and fresh fruit. I enjoyed a good, hearty breakfast.

There's awkward parking (free) available at the hotel in an underground garage and on the deck above the garage, but there are not enough parking spaces for all the rooms. Some guests may have to find parking spots on the adjacent streets. The streets aren't exceptionally crowded, but it is Brooklyn, after all, so you may have to search and walk a bit.

Room Tip: All rooms face either busy Emmons Avenue or the slightly less busy Nostrand Avenue; try to get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Rooms are Ok. Management and service though are just one big disappointment.
Some of the staff were quite helpful, but the manager!...
Never again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My stay was one night I attended a meeting in the city and wanted to stay in brooklyn to visit friends. the location was nice the room was clean, sheets and towels were clean and white. the bed was comfortable. I checked in early and there was no problem the staff at the front desk and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. My only issue was that the wall seemed to be thin becuase when I went to bed I could here the people in the next room doing what two people in a hotel do and I had to put my Ipod in my ear not to hear it and go to sleep all and all i enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel

Address: 3003 Emmons Ave, Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this waterfront Brooklyn, New York hotel offering convenient access to key attractions such as Coney Island, the Statue of Liberty and Brighton Beach. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is a brand new hotel located on the waterfront of New York's Long Island area. This Brooklyn hotel offers convenient access to a variety of local restaurants and shopping within the surrounding resort-style neighborhood. Each of the 48 well-appointed loft guest rooms features cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access.Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel will find an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, a 24 hour fitness center and business services. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is ideally situated just one mile from local beaches including Brighton Beach and the beaches at Sheepshead Bay. Guests staying at this New York hotel can spend the day in New York City, just 15 miles away, to visit attractions such as the Rockefeller Center and the Guggenheim Museum. Locally, guests will enjoy touring the Brooklyn Museum or spending the afternoon at Coney Island, only one mile from the hotel. This Long Island hotel also offers convenient access to Kingsborough Community College and Coney Island University. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Brooklyn, New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.