We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised in Brooklyn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3003 Emmons Ave, Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Brooklyn
Willow Grove, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised in Brooklyn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Brooklyn Bay Hotel is a relatively standard motel-style inn across Emmons Ave. from Sheepshead Bay in Brooklyn. I stayed for two nights as part of a block of 19 rooms reserved for a conference.

Access to most of the rooms in the 4-story hotel is via standard exterior concrete walkways, but the hotel management has thoughtfully installed moveable clear plastic windbreaks along the outside of the walkways to prevent guests from getting wet in rain or snow.

The management was very helpful and accommodating in arranging the block of rooms, even making adjustments after the deadline date. The front desk staff was courteous, friendly and efficient at check-in and check-out.

My room was small, but exceptionally clean and nicely furnished--a pleasant surprise given the rather standard appearance of the exterior of the building. The bed was comfortably firm. There were plenty of pillows, extra blankets, and towels in the bathroom. Plenty of hot water for the shower, too.

Breakfast was another pleasant surprise, given the usual fare at motel breakfasts. Though the breakfast room was small, there were hot scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon available, and a waffle maker was hot and ready. In addition, the breakfast bar offered a selection of cold cereals, yogurt, and fresh fruit. I enjoyed a good, hearty breakfast.

There's awkward parking (free) available at the hotel in an underground garage and on the deck above the garage, but there are not enough parking spaces for all the rooms. Some guests may have to find parking spots on the adjacent streets. The streets aren't exceptionally crowded, but it is Brooklyn, after all, so you may have to search and walk a bit.

Room Tip: All rooms face either busy Emmons Avenue or the slightly less busy Nostrand Avenue; try to get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    21
    15
    9
See reviews for
35
27
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Rooms are Ok. Management and service though are just one big disappointment.
Some of the staff were quite helpful, but the manager!...
Never again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My stay was one night I attended a meeting in the city and wanted to stay in brooklyn to visit friends. the location was nice the room was clean, sheets and towels were clean and white. the bed was comfortable. I checked in early and there was no problem the staff at the front desk and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. My only issue was that the wall seemed to be thin becuase when I went to bed I could here the people in the next room doing what two people in a hotel do and I had to put my Ipod in my ear not to hear it and go to sleep all and all i enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We attended a wedding in Brooklyn and did not want to drive home to Long Island. The room
was pleasant and the breakfast was satisfying.
We received our key cards at check in. Neither one worked. Back to the lobby. Upon our turn from the wedding the entry cards did not work again. Back to the lobby. To make a long story a little shorter this happened a total of five times. EXTREMELY INCONVINENT.

I called the hotel manager the next day. He claimed it was ALL my fault because the enrty card must have been demagnetized by my cell phone. He said this four times. I asked why didn't the desk duty person mention this. I also told him the cards were kept in the folder they gave us a check in. Then he became arrogent and self rightous and said it was common sense to not put the cards near my phone. (even thou I didn't and always used the folder)
After paying $179 and being told I lacked common sense. I hung up.
If you are lucky Mr. Sonny Mystery will not be the manager when you arrive.

Room Tip: make sure you back in to your indoor parking garage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed for one night meeting friends who were attending a wedding. The location was good, pretty easy to get into the city. Rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We were very early and they made arrangements for us to have early check in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The location of the hotel was my main reason for staying at this property. It is located on Sheepshead bay, which was where I wanted to be.

My room #112, on the first floor had a funky smell, perhaps from a cleaning product, that lingered and was very unpleasant. I am not particularly susceptible to odors, but this one was vile.

The room was small, but clean. The beds were comfortable and the bedding clean, white and seemed quite new.

The room was handicap accessible. The fiberglass shower, which allowed a wheel chair to be rolled into it, had cracks in the floor that were cosmetically unpleasant. There was no shelf for soap or shampoo which was a big inconvenience. Water flooded from the shower onto the bathroom floor despite being careful to avoid so doing. This happened despite a plastic lip at the shower floor.

Next to the sink was a wire shelving unit. Unfortunately there was no flat surface on top of the wire grid so you couldn't put your toothpaste, shaving gear, etc. down on a flat surface. I had to keep everything in its carrying bag.

The television worked, but was old, was not a flat screen high definition set, and the color was poor.

I expected more for a room that cost $189 a night before taxes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Saw a bed bug in my room! Was moved to another room which smelled like an ashtray. Price very high for what you would get even if the place was cleaner. Manager's response was to avoid contact with me. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shashin G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

As you are well aware, our hotel is located across the street from Sheepshead Bay. As a result, in the Fall, Early September especially, we occasionally see Water Flies on the bay. Once in every few years, these flies reach the hotel. It has never been an issue before this as simply closing the windows will resolve the problem. These insects do not bite (you were not bitten) and do not harbor like bed bugs (you have had nothing further).

Our hotel's staff removed all contents of the room after your complaints and found nothing. Our hotel undergoes monthly professional extermination by a nationally recognized company. In our extreme concern, they were called to the hotel the day after you checked out. They too did not see anything of what you are describing. Calling any bug one sees a bedbug based on no symptoms and no real knowledge is reckless in the hotel business.

A glance of our Tripadvisor reviews will reveal that customer service and hotel cleanliness are very important to us. We strive to give all customers the best hospitality possible and will not rest until we accomplish this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel

Address: 3003 Emmons Ave, Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this waterfront Brooklyn, New York hotel offering convenient access to key attractions such as Coney Island, the Statue of Liberty and Brighton Beach. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is a brand new hotel located on the waterfront of New York's Long Island area. This Brooklyn hotel offers convenient access to a variety of local restaurants and shopping within the surrounding resort-style neighborhood. Each of the 48 well-appointed loft guest rooms features cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access.Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel will find an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, a 24 hour fitness center and business services. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is ideally situated just one mile from local beaches including Brighton Beach and the beaches at Sheepshead Bay. Guests staying at this New York hotel can spend the day in New York City, just 15 miles away, to visit attractions such as the Rockefeller Center and the Guggenheim Museum. Locally, guests will enjoy touring the Brooklyn Museum or spending the afternoon at Coney Island, only one mile from the hotel. This Long Island hotel also offers convenient access to Kingsborough Community College and Coney Island University. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Brooklyn, New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.