We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and Free Breakfast!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   625 Union Street, Brooklyn, NY 11215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Free Breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a very clean, updated, and comfortable hotel. The rooms are small but nicely appointed including a microwave and a small refrigerator. The parking is pricey and on street parking is crowded. The staff were helpful and there is a ful, free breakfast including pancakes, omelet a and bagels. The hotel is near a subway station, too!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Shawksley,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the great review.
We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Happy Holidays!

Sudhir Puthran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
30
15
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Walking distance of train. Free breakfast is good, and free wifi. The only negative thing was the elevator... However there is a sign that says during peak hours the elevator will take a while. Doesn't have a gym or lounge area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Ronjohron,
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Happy holidays & hope to see you soon!

Sudhir Puthran
Front Office Manager
Sudhir.puthran@expressbrooklyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent 5 nights at this hotel in early December. Pros: convenient location for visiting Manhattan and Brooklyn (Union Street subway stop is very close to hotel), close to nice Park Slope neighborhood which has some fun restaurants and Prospect Park and Brooklyn Museum, rooms are clean and reasonably well equipped and maintained, beds comfortable. Friendly staff. Cons: noisy both inside and out (outside noise is maybe just the din of New York but there is a roar through the windows on weekdays - inside noise from hallway and other rooms suggest insufficient insulation between rooms - good earplugs can mostly solve these noise problems), breakfast buffet is generally poor to barely acceptable (eg. the "sausages" and "gravy" are inedible for anyone with any taste) with mostly unhealthy alternatives (e.g. Wonder bread quality bread, sugary pastries); they ran out of the non-fat Greek yogurt, one of the few decent things offered, immediate neighborhood is run down and dumpy but Park Slope is very close.

Note: Dino BBQ across the street is actually fun and a decent dinner value with great BBQ chicken; Pickle Shack nearby on 4th serves delicious well-prepared interesting thoughtful vegetarian food (eg. the Smoked Tufu Bahn Mi sandwich is wonderful whether you are a vegetarian or not; great craft beers; gluten free options.This is a place to watch. Is supposedly run by a well trained chef who is just getting this place going. Space is still spartan but perhaps they will invest in that and raise it to the level of the food)

Bottom line: we would stay here again if the price were right. We reserved through Priceline and the nightly cost averaged about $200 per night. Given the ridiculously high cost of hotels in Manhattan that's not awful. But I wouldn't pay much more than that. Were it not for the noise level and the crummy breakfast, I would give this four stars.

Room Tip: Not near an ice machine or near the stairwell. The door to the stair well is LOUD when opening and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mrboyo,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and the great location of our hotel. We apologize for the noise that you had experienced during your stay with us and I want to assure you that we are diligently working to avoid re-occurrence of the issue in the future.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Sudhir Puthran
Front Office Manager
Sudhir.puthran@expressbrooklyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It would not be fair to compare a Brooklyn hotel such as this to its Texas equivalent. But, being from Texas, that is what I have to do.
That said, this hotel is small. Everything about it is small.
The elevator is almost useless. It fits about 3 people comfortably and moves in slow motion. Other than to move luggage, the stairwells were far more efficient.
The rooms are clean but tiny and the fact that they put the regular furniture in them that is found in their larger counterparts makes them even more cramped. I must add that if you get a room below the dining room, the movement of the chairs above will annoy the hell out of you.
The bathroom/shower was nice.
The staff is nice.
The breakfast was more than I had expected and had hot and cold items that seemed to satisfy everyone in my family.
The location is convenient having a subway station at the end of the block, a variety of shops, restaraunts, etc. within a few blocks in every direction.
There is a "business center" with a computer and printer next to the dining room on the 2nd floor. The Wi-fi is so slow it kept timing out and proved to be useless to me.
So, as a nicely located home base, this hotel is sufficient. It is clean and affordable. Pretty basic. Not too noisy outside.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Steebo2013,
We thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our housekeeping service, breakfast and location of our hotel. We have also made note of your comments were we did not exceed your expectations and we are sorry. Rest assured your comments have been addressed.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Sudhir Puthran
Front Office Manager
Sudhir.puthran@expressbrooklyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are very few motels in Brooklyn. Some of them are very expensive and some are in places you would not want to stay. Based on this, the Holiday Inn Express will do barely because of your limited other options. The place has some good points and some bad points.

The good ones first. The included breakfast is very good with lots of options. The price was not bad. The location is safe. It is also close to Smith and Court Streets which have lots of good restaurants and shops. Although the ice maker outside of our room was very noisy, hotel staff promptly turned it off which eliminated the noise but would be a problem if someone wanted ice.

Now for the bad. The rooms are tiny and they are dark. Most motel rooms have barely enough light to read by. The rooms in this motel are darker. Whomever designed or installed the plumbing system in the motel probably failed basic plumbing 101. Every time someone anywhere in the motel took a shower, we heard the water running in our room. As another reviewer has already mentioned, the one elevator in the place was very slow.

So would I personally stay there again. If I could not find a "for rent by owner" place, probably yes if only for a day or so because it was within walking distance of my kids apartment and also it was close to Smith and Court Streets. However, without these positives, I would work hard to find another place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Donaldsc,

We thank you for giving such a detailed review of your stay with us. We are very appreciative that you enjoyed our breakfast service and the choices we offer. Thank you for pointing out the fantastic location of our hotel and it's proximity to some great restaurants and shops.

We apologize for the noise from the ice machine that you had encountered. We realize how important a quiet and restful sleep makes for a integral part of your stay and we are extremely sorry that you was disturbed. Your comments pertaining to lighting and plumbing noise have been addressed with our engineering team for further action.

We will be looking forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sudhir Puthran
Sudhir.puthran@expressbrooklyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not many hotels in the residential-heavy, Brooklyn and this one was under high demand on a Saturday night in December. Close to where we wanted to be, walkable to Prospect Park, Brooklyn Nets arena, shopping, cool restaurants. Rate was ok, given demand. Room was small, but again, no surprises. Nothing fancy, no lobby, below average breakfast, but we just needed beds. Not Holiday Inn's fault but there was a fire alarm evacuation in the morning to make for a good story/laugh. Thankfully no fire, no drama.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peter,
We appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and its close proximity to various points of interest and restaurants. We are sorry that our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. We also apologize for any inconvenience the fire alarms may have caused you.
We wish to see you in the near future!
Sincerely,
Sudhir Puthran
Front Office Manager
Sudhir.puthran@expressbrooklyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am torn between giving this hotel a 3 or a 4, but ultimately, the customer service and location won me over. First, on the plus side, it across the street from a train station. Second, it is right across the street from Dinosaur BBQ (delicious!). Third, the staff is very pleasant and right on the mark. Now, for the bad- housekeeping. It is terrible. We stayed a total of 5 nights. 2 nights, we had no housekeeping. No towels, no garbage removal. We commented to the front desk and they called housekeeping in front of us, but after returning late from Manhattan, we found nothing done. Then we complained about it and had some housekeeping, but our sheets were never changed! We stopped and spoke to the housekeeper directly and nothing. We were there for our son's graduation and rarely were in the room during the day. So, I would recommend maybe calling to check on whether your room has been serviced if you plan on coming back very in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you appreciated the location of our hotel and our friendly team. We are disappointed that the housekeeping service did not live up to your expectations. Our Housekeeping Manager has taken a note of your comment. We can assure you that we take pride in providing our guests with a very high standard of housekeeping.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Sudhir Puthran
Sudhir.puthran@expressbrooklyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn

Address: 625 Union Street, Brooklyn, NY 11215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn NY, the obvious and affordable alternative to Manhattan hotels is conveniently located in the heart of Brooklyn. Walking distance to a plethora of restaurants, lounges, shopping and Government and corporate offices, Long Island University, Navy Yard, Coney Island, Brooklyn Academy of Music, Brooklyn Bridge, and Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. This 115-room property with superior customer service is located in the historic Park Slope section of Brooklyn, NY. The hotel is a recently opened IHG property. Our pet friendly hotel features include Jacuzzi rooms, complimentary deluxe breakfast buffet, free wireless high speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning, featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and hot items rotated daily. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Additional features include a self-service business center and limited self-parking (at an affordable fee). Steps away from Union Street Subway Station and walking distance to Metro Tech Government Offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Brooklyn
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.