We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   625 Union Street, Brooklyn, NY 11215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Walnut, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inexpensive but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my family's first trip to New York. We stayed in Brooklyn because it was centrally located. Great staff , Terrance, Caress and Christina were great. The rooms were small but what do you want for $160.00. They need a bar but there's a great one 2 blocks away. The street is noisy but it's New York! They had a very decent breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    105
    42
    25
    28
See reviews for
79
72
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3+ weeks while working in New York. The staff was young, dynamic, friendly and knowledgeable of local places to eat and entertain. Even though they had a decent breakfast, there are plenty of places to go nearby. The GM and staff really disappointed me by not having a rude, dry and crude attitude towards tourist that I found common in other hotels in NY. Rooms where small but cleaned every day and the beds quite comfortable. A definite place to stay while visiting NY, the metro station is very close by. Great customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were the for the new year's eve ( we stayed 4 days), 3 persons.
We booked a room more than a month before, and when we arrived they didn't have the room. They didn't even have a room for 3. So after a 30 minutes negotiation we had a room with 1 bed + a blow up bed (it came really late btw). Everyday they said we would have the room we booked and after 4 days we still didn't have it. everyday losing 30 minutes of arguing, not what you're searching for when you're on vacations !

The excuse: we booked with booking.com so they didn't get our reservation, BUT, I called twice to confirm they had the room. So what happens there is that even when you book, if they have to give our room away they do it.

The staff was cool anyways and we had a nice discount for the disagreement.

The rooms are small but nice.

The area seemed very nice, except the last day when a lady got hit by a man with a baseball bat and got her purse robed. All that happened around 9.00 pm in the subway union street. (across the street of the hotel).

Well, there are crazy people everywhere, and overall we had a nice time in Brooklyn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Cam9288,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspect. I am relieved to know that the hotel gave you a discount to compensate the inconvenience of your stay. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Number of travellers: 3
Room:Triple room. 2 Double beds.
Duration of stay: 1 week

Room:
Positives:
Clean & Modern

Negatives:
Very small rooms.
Very little / no closet space (we kept out clothes in our suitcases)
Hair dryer stopped working and when it was replaced , the second blew up while i was drying my hair. Didnt attempt to dry my hair after that !

On the hotel itself:
Very friendly staff.
I found it very expensive for the area.
One lift that is as slow as christmas and very small. Not great when your on the 9th floor !
Breakfast was just ok.

We arrived back to our hotel room on one night and there was a smell of burning. Staff couldnt figure out the smell and we asked to be moved to a lower floor. On the next night , arriving back at the hotel in the new room. There was a infest of ants. So we had to move again.

One family member had an emergency twice while we were staying there but staff were very helpful in calling an ambulance. Especially the employee Angel. He couldnt have been nicer or helpful. He deserves a promotion !

Next time i visit New York, i would stay in a different hotel. Its worth paying the extra few dollars to stay in the city centre. This wouldnt be a holiday hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear IrishGalwayLady,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am happy to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is our regret that you were satisfied with your room accommodation, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced at our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. Welcome any opportunity to improve.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel, from Penn station we transferred to the "N" which took us to the Union Street (not Union STATION) subway stop. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so we stayed in the breakfast area. They were waiting for a nonsmoking room which we had requested (who knew there were smoking rooms in any hotel anymore?!) after a bit I went to the desk and said a smoking room would be fine and we could change later if necessary. The room was clean and the smell of smoke was so minimal that we weren't bothered. As in any New York hotel, space is at a premium. There were 3 adults with three carry on size suitcases in a room with two double beds. The size was more then adequate and as we expected. As someone else stated the elevator is slow so we would just take the stairs - not a sacrifice. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful our entire stay. Housekeeping was great, we were never disturbed even on days we didn't leave room until 11 a.m. We had breakfast on one morning and it was more then satisfactory. There is a great bagel place, Brownstone Bagel, just a few hundred feet from the hotel which we stopped in a few times. Great restaurants within walking distance (or a short cab ride) - Bonnies Grill has great hot wings, Park Slope Ale - great burgers and on Mondays they have whole lobster at market price (when we were there it was $16.95 for a whole lobster with two sides - incredible especially compared to prices you pay in Seattle for lobster!!). It was a safe neighborhood, an easy walk to and from the subway, we would stay again. We didn't hear anyone from adjoining rooms, were in back of hotel so no street noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bomoseen, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very close to Union Street Subway stop and one stop from Barclay Center. Nice clean rooms good service and an excellent continental breakfast. The staff is helpful and gave good directions to local spots.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Not a problem there at all. My first time staying outside of Manhattan and I loved it Located in Park Slope, Brooklyn and you have the R train 1 min away and if you are a late nighter, then you will also have the options of Q & N train late nights. Nice area and try the bagel shop at the intersection Service was great & check in was good. Breakfast was OK and gets busy pretty quick considering its free. After hitting the clubs and coming back in at 6am, I decided to go at 630am and it was packed.
Yes, there is one elevator but dont let that fault the hotel. Yes, the parking spot may be full but who drives and parks in NY when you have the fastest & best subway system in the world! Cheap eating digs are all around , you can have it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn

Address: 625 Union Street, Brooklyn, NY 11215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn NY, the obvious and affordable alternative to Manhattan hotels is conveniently located in the heart of Brooklyn. Walking distance to a plethora of restaurants, lounges, shopping and Government and corporate offices, Long Island University, Navy Yard, Coney Island, Brooklyn Academy of Music, Brooklyn Bridge, and Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. This 115-room property with superior customer service is located in the historic Park Slope section of Brooklyn, NY. The hotel is a recently opened IHG property. Our pet friendly hotel features include Jacuzzi rooms, complimentary deluxe breakfast buffet, free wireless high speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning, featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and hot items rotated daily. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Additional features include a self-service business center and limited self-parking (at an affordable fee). Steps away from Union Street Subway Station and walking distance to Metro Tech Government Offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Brooklyn
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.