We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Restaurant on the bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornetto

Il Fornetto
2902 Emmons Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2243
+1 718-332-8494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 4,509 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Beautiful waterfront dining in Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn. Enjoy the view and savor the flavors of authentic Italian cuisine inspired by the sea.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant on the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Il Fornetto is a great place for a date or a whole family and friends to relax, eat good food and drink for a good price. All the items that I've tried on the menu are great and relatively cheap. The restaurant also has a full bar with a good selection of wine. The location is excellent as well with a nice view of the bay. This place is a must go for anyone who lives in the area of Sheepshead Bay.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It Used to Be Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Six of us ate at Il Fornetto this past week. The service was excellent. The dishes eaten included Tilapia as the fish of the day, Bronzini (both filet and on the bone) a chicken dish and their seafood pasta special. The fish and seafood were dry despite our requesting that they be undercooked so as to be moist. It turned out their was a surcharge for ordering whole wheat pasta with their signature dish. The lobster in the dish was tasteless. There was also a surcharge for the fish of the day compared to other items on their price fixed menu. The broccoli they served was yellow and on some plates flavorless. The chicken dish, I am told, was fine. The wine list was small, but overpriced as we thought was everything else. We ate a similar sea food and pasta dish at a local diner two nights later and it was wonderful and half the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Taste of Italy on the Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have eaten here several times with my wife, family and friends. The service has always been excellent. The views of Sheepshead Bay is beautiful. The food, overall, has been quite good. My cousin mentioned that the bolognese sauce was the best he ever had. The pasta dishes are great. Salads too. The meat dishes are very tasty and not over-sauced. It is a bit pricey, but it's worth a try.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reopened, following Hurricane Sandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

For those who may not be aware, "Hurricane Sandy" affected several restaurants in Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn (as well as lower Manhattan). I telephoned to learn whether it was reopened, and it was; so I took one of the ladies who had given so much of her time as a volunteer to help others, to lunch. We each ordered the rack of lamb: it was mouth-watering. The roasted potatoes were the best I have ever had. Choosing a dessert is always a problem here, since one is tempted to have one of each. We decided to share the apple tart, and it was delicious and ample. Although, I wish my guest had insisted we also add the chocolate on chocolate cake. The restaurant wasn't as full as it used to be at lunch time, but it was a brutally cold day and many people may not know it has reopened. Now is the time. Ample parking (a treat in Sheepshead Bay), a movie setting water view that is very romantic at twilight.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My children treated me to dinner at this restaurant (which I suggested). The food was very tasty, reasonably priced, and the service and atmosphere were outstanding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornetto also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.