We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Di La Trattoria

Al Di La Trattoria
248 5th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11215-1201
718-636-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 4,110 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a late and leisurely Sunday brunch that was perfect. The atmosphere was warm and relaxed, the waitstaff was friendly and had great recommendations. We were there around noon and had no wait. Mimosas were very tasty, we had a couple rounds. I really liked that it wasn't your standard bland eggs, bacon and hash browns type menu. Our table had the breakfast bruschetta, funghi e polenta, and the crispy polenta cake. All were wonderful, but the polenta cake was the winner, it's hard to go on enough about how good it was. The mix of the tomato sauce with the poached eggs and polenta was perfection, it's probably my favorite thing I've ever had for brunch, I ate as slowly as I could, just to make the experience last. The prices were also really reasonable for the quality and portion sizes, which is a nice find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    59
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sunday in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Al Di La is always right. Reasonably priced italian home cooking. In my view he best Italian value-for-money in the NY metropolitan area. The Sunday lunch/brunch menue is limited, but worth the trip. When temperatures drop in the fall, head for the daily soup followed by a pasta and add the tuscan wine. Never mind the garage sale interior. Your wife/girls friends will be vintage shopping on 5th afterwards burning up the savings of not going to the pricey lunch places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a top Italian find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have eaten here half a dozen times in the last five years, and have found the food to be beautifully prepared every time. The place is obviously a favorite of many others, too, since the waits can be a problem unless you go at odd times. The ambience is nothing special, but they really do know how to cook.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience. Go early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

No reservations and the line starts a little before 5:30pm when the restaurant opens. And fills up rapidly. Northern Italian, local trattoria. Excellent service. The dishes are large. My husband and I shared the lasagne. He had the roasted bobo chicken which was made to perfection. I had the day's special pasta -- paquerie? though it was pretty close to the lasagne in taste. Try the fried ricotta fritters with chocolate sauce and cream. But share it, even for two it seems a lot.

The wine was very affordable by the bottle. The dining area is an old room with a patched up tin ceiling, two classic chandeliers and a huge mirror.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The way an Italian restaurant should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The general quality of the food in so-called Italian restaurants continues to be sad. Unfortunately, the sitation is getting worse in Italy, too. Fortunately, Al di La continues to serve food that is both interesting an d accomplished. And it does this without fuss or pretension. It is not that every dish is perfect but, when it comes to the essentials, the management and cooks know what they are doing. Thsre is a food wine selecrion and the prices are in line with what one gets. One has to wonder why the results achieved here are so difficult to replicate elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Di La Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Al Di La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Di La Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.