We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lamb pita” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heights Cafe

Heights Cafe
84 Montague St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-3305
718-625-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #452 of 4,604 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely lamb pita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Outside seating,NZ sav blanc by the glass, & a delightful lamb sandwich-Devine. The lamb is roasted & thinly sliced, piled onto a pita w/ Tom, lettuce, feta & drizzled with a buttermilk dressing. Huge , w/thin sliced fries...will copy this at home!!Very reasonable prices for a great location.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    58
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Stopped because it was crowded so we figured it was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were coming off a tour of the Brooklyn Bridge and walked by the Cafe and it was crowded so we figured that was a good thing. We were there around 1:30 for a lunch and we were fortunate to get a table right away.

The atmosphere was quaint and the food was good, it was a pleasent surprise for a random selection.

The grilled chicken sandwich was good and the beer was cold particularly on a 95 degree day.

Lots of nice little restaurants in the Brooklyn Heights area but we enjoyed this one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We ate on a Sunday evening and the restaurant was full. I ordered the fried calamari and my husband ordered the rigatoni. Both were delicious. I would have given it 5 stars, but the sauce on the rigatoni was too salty. Our server didn't seem to be having a great night, but they were very busy. The atmosphere was great. The prices were not very high, yet the restaurant had an upscale restaurant feel. We didn't sit at the bar, but the people there really seemed to have a great time. Would eat there again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant on Montague St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good food, great service. This is not your typical cafe, the food is more upscale with reasonable prices. After eating walk to the end of the street for a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quite Good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stopped in for lunch with a friend. Expected an average meal, and was not overwhelmed, but pleased. The salads, nice. A bit overpriced. A lovely sidewalk cafe and view. Okay service. The pastas seemed overpriced, but the portions were large. I had an egg white omelette, and it was fine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heights Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Heights Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heights Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.