We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A throwback red sauce Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Corner

New Corner
7201 8TH Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11228-1940
(718) 833-0800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 4,411 restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A throwback red sauce Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Enjoy this old school Italian for well done standbys, chicken rollatini, parmigiana, pastas. Decor hasn't changed in thirty years(or more) but you won't care.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    15
    8
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great homey, local Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Colandrea New Corner restaurant recently celebrated its 75th Birthday and its been in the same family since opening. New Corner is a local gem that serves Italian comfort food, featuring large portions and reasonable prices that keep the faithful coming back again and again. Starting out as a corner pizza joint, the place has expanded over the years to 3 separate dining rooms and an ample bar area. On a recent visit, we seven people opted for the $24 dinner special which includes a salad, an appetizer of choice, an entre with pasta or vegetables and dessert. Most of us couldn't finish everything but "doggie bags" were quickly provided and we packed it up for home. The food was delicious and the service was helpful and friendly. All in all, a great evening out with friends enjoyiing good food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Family Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have been going to New Corner for over 20 years, with my parents. we made it aThursday evening staple. My father`s favorite meal was the fish combination, my mother`s, lasagna. Mine is the fettechini pomadoro with baed clams or fried calamari as an appetizer. The waiters and waitresses are polite efficient. Te host Stephen Colandrea always remembers and greets repeat customers. My parents are gone but I make it a point to continue to go there at n least once a month with friends. or solo.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland lakes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

New Corner has been in business for 75 years! Food and service always good! Family owned for all those years! Large assortment on the menu. Friendly staff. Have been there many times over the years.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Down to earth Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I only live a few blocks from New Corner and have been going for many years and have never been disappointed. The food is always good and pleantiful. Individuals who has moved to SI & NJ stillcome back, its that good

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Corner also viewed

 

Been to New Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.