We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really don't have to leave Brooklyn to enjoy great Italian Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sociale

Sociale
72 Henry Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
7185763588
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sociale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #627 of 4,509 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You really don't have to leave Brooklyn to enjoy great Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I have now eaten in Sociale 2 times now and all I can say is WOW! After dining here the first time, we were so taken by the food quality, the chef's preparations and the exemplary service, we both thought that it might be an abberation: so many times have we gone out to dine; had a wonderful meal, only to be disappointed the next time around. Not this place. The host, a charming man, remembered us from our visit a few weeks ago, and greeted us appropriately. This was followed by the waiter telling us the few nightly specials, and we ordered drinks. The appetizers came: I ordered the creamy polenta with funghi, and my wife ordered the squash soup (one of the nightly specials). This was the second time that I ordered the polenta (an appetizer to die for). It was just as tasty as the 1st time. My wife loved her squash soup. My wife then ordered the seared tuna salad (a beautiful presentation that was equally good to look at). I ordered the pan sauteed Hallibut over spinach with fingerling potatoes. Delicious. We shared a dessert (Ricotta cheesecake with berries and raspberry sorbet). I forgot to mention that we both had cocktails and a glass of wine with the meal. This was one of the most enjoyable dinners we have had in quite some time. Both of us dine out regularly in some of the finest restaurants in the metropolitan area, and we can both say that Sociale ranks right up there with some of the very best. What a wonderful dining experience . . . we both can't wait to return. Kudos to the chef and the wonderful staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A little neighbourhood gem we stumbled upon after walking along the promenade to take pictures of the Brooklyn Bridge. Small place, small and focused menu. Excellent service and food presentation. A simple request to the chef for risotto with seafood resulted in a tailor made meal that was tasty, fresh and interesting. Desserts to die for - and unique. Too bad I live on the other side of the continent, otherwise I would go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Italian food in Brooklyn Heights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very good food and service. We had the branzino with pancetta, asparagus, and Brussels sprouts and it was wonderful. We also tried the homemade pasta with sausage and broccoli rabe (also delicious). Good wines and very nice Italian-speaking staff. The music was also excellent. Portions are on the small side. Would come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just amazing, What else can I say?. Friendly and passionate crew, great knowledge about what they are going to serve (both food and wine) and correct prices. I liked also a lot the atmosphere. These Italian guys are doing a really good job.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lucky Brooklyn Heights Residents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We came across this restaurant after walking over Brooklyn Bridge on Columbus day. Whilst perusing the menu we spoke to two young Irish girls who lived in Brooklyn Heights, they highly recommended it. It was full at the height of lunchtime and we returned an hour or two later.
With a local clientele the atmosphere was very pleasant, the service was very good and friendly.
The food was, what you might hope for in an Italian Restaurant in New York City, but don't always get. An excellent local for the lucky people (in many ways) of Brooklyn Heights. I assume by the crowd at lunchtime, that booking ahead is a sensible precaution. This place will not disappoint, no pretensions, only good food and service - enjoy. Well worth negotiating the crowds crossing the bridge on a sunny fall day for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sociale also viewed

 

Been to Sociale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sociale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.