We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OPEN 24 HRS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Days Diner

Happy Days Diner
148 Montague St, Ste 3, Brooklyn, NY 11201-3512
718-875-8361
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #579 of 4,604 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“OPEN 24 HRS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Being open 24 hours is wonderful for the very late or early diner. First stopped there on a Thanksgiving when no one else was open. Friendly, wasy ordering and they will recommend. Have eaten there several times and always had good diner food. Plentiful but fresh and tasty. Fun to people watch and listen - prom crowd, old couples, business animaed discussions. Fish, hamburgers, specials, pastrami - its all good. Salmon burger was a bit dry but requested some sauce and OK.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We went in with a group of ten and they happily put together tables for us. They were also vert helpful with a member of our group who cannot eat dairy or wheat. Overall worth it

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Typical diner, no more, no less”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This place was full of locals, always a good sign. Quick friendly service and the blueberry pie was a generous portion, although a little sweet for my taste. Good atmosphere, would definitely go again if in the area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego and New York City
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Solid Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I've been to this diner several times because its consistent. The coffee is always fresh, the service is always good and the food is fine if maybe a tad on the pricey side. I grew up with 24hr diners all over NYC and this place is a one of the few left.

I love the glittery blue booths and though I don't like the fact that there's no designated ladies room, the dining area is always quite clean. The portions of homey food are very generous and the staff is really nice.

If you're in Brooklyn Heights you know there's a good place to go any time of the day. That alone is enough to give me a great sense of security but the fact that I can get a standby like fresh chicken salad, a decent burger, grilled cheese or a nice bowl of soup whenever I want is terrific.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered! Recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

A simple must if you are after a real NY diner experience. Great service and good selection on this no frills typical NY diner. Pancakes - Waffles - Canadian Bacon - Eggs Benedict - what more do you want. Liked it so much we went twice - if i lived in Brooklyn Heights i'd go there every week.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Days Diner also viewed

 

Been to Happy Days Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Days Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.