We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tatiana Restaurant

Tatiana Restaurant
3152 Brighton 6th St, Brooklyn, NY 11235-7151
718-891-5151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #669 of 4,515 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Russian, Seafood, Eastern European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Walked the board walk and stopped by for late lunch, took a chance, hoŵver the food and service were wonderful , a very very eclectic menu. Certainly something for all tastes.....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    28
    13
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“the real thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

many people might complain about service or even about the facilities, but then they really weren´t expecting to have a russian experience. having been to moscow and other places in russia I can tell you that Tatiana makes you feel in some "iolky-palky" place in old arbat. food is good, but you have to know that russian food is rarely better than "good". the chicken kiev and the borscht are just as I remembered them, and the bad service is a must for russians. I had a great brighton beach autumn afternoon, eating and looking at people walking by the sea. highly recommended. and cheap, also.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We waited some time to be seated as waiters walked past us without saying anything or looking at us. Gave up and walked to the next place which, as we were seated, we noticed was actually the same place. Tables very close together which meant waiters constantly squeezing by. Took a while to order. At one point a waiter actually stood just outside and smoked.

The food was actually quite good and portions more than adequate. Getting the check was also an issue. The first person we asked rudely said it wasn't his table. the second person did at least offer to find the right person to take our money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Limited options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Summer is starting so all the places on the boardwalk are very full. And that means extra crappy service and extra long waits for everything. Food is ok and they try to be helpful, but prices seem to keep getting higher and food keeps getting simpler.
We went with a large group (6 adults, 3 toddlers) and waitress really tried, but it took multiple (think 5-6) requests for water, silverware, napkins, even before ordering food. When we ordered food some of the items were not available, but we did not find out about that until after food started coming out.

In general, be prepared to wait, ask a few times for what ever you need, and have an extra thick skin about service in general.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice lunch menus the grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Tatiana grill 5-20-14
Price fixed lunch
Nice boardwalk ambiance on summer day for lunch.
3 course lunch for $20.
2 salad selections; red or green
borscht; 6 entrees. Both cold red and hot green borscht very good. Salads okay. Chicken Kiev with mashed potatoes and greens nice. Meat dumplings (14) were nothing special. Try the meat stew or fish instead. Not rushed, wait service was good.
An added Ten % " tip" on bill so do not over tip, just add 5/10% if that's how much you want to tip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatiana Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tatiana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatiana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.