We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully this is the one on Coney Island” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nathan's Famous

Nathan's Famous
1310 Surf Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11224-2497
(718) 946-2705
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 4,515 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Horsham
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hopefully this is the one on Coney Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lonely Planet advised this was the birth of the hot dog and not to be missed. Loved Coney Island - the atmosphere, the beach, the funfair - the hot dog? Pretty average chilli dog with the chilli taken out. We were hungry so we went down reasonably well with a beer. If I ever go back to Coney Island - yes, I would probably buy another one. My only hot dog in the 3 week trip to the US.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    238
    100
    45
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
“Legend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

It lives up to it's awsome legend...I was there with my girl at the time, she was from Brooklyn so she knew all the sight's Nathans being at Coney Island is a trade mark location for anybody who goes to Brooklyn. There's plenty of room in the area to park. Hathan's takes you back in time to when the Brooklyn Coast was hopping..Thanks Samantha for showing me this place

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It looked like a hot dog from my microwave”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to the first Nathan hotdog at Coney Island and was very upset. The hot dog was nothing different then any lame hotdog my mom made me as a child.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Iconic Coney Island spot, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you don't eat here, you won't be missing a thing. Poor service, greasy oily "fish and chips". Mediocre hot dog at best. I make them better at home. Good place to take some pix, since this is where they hold the hot dog eating contest but not really a good place to actually eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Food is great, had the lobster roll and medium drink. if you are visiting the USA a small drink will be enough. the roll was great and the lobster perfect, after visiting Lunar Park I had a Philly cheese steak roll and small beer. drink right size and food awesome

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathan's Famous also viewed

 
Brooklyn, NY
 

Been to Nathan's Famous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathan's Famous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.