We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Now & Then You Need Steak!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Luger Steak House

Peter Luger Steak House
178 Broadway, Brooklyn, NY 11211-6131
(718) 387-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 4,108 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
NY
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Every Now & Then You Need Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have family living in Williamsburg Brooklyn and every time we visit we go right by Peter Luger's. I've heard talk of this restaurant and thought I'd really like to try it out. So, this past week we made reservations for a Friday night dinner. The reservations were for 5:45 and even then the restaurant was filling up quickly. Being a well known steak house, that's what we ordered. Ordering is really rather simple, steak for 2,3,4 and so on. We had the steak for 3 with sides of German potatoes (similar to home fries and delicious), broccoli and their specialty bacon. They serve their steaks with their own special sauce which is remarkable.

The servers the night we were there were mostly older men who knew their stuff and were very friendly. Right up there with the quality of the steaks are their mix drinks - excellent. Prices are high but you'd expect that from a well known establishment that has good service and great food and drink.

Treat yourself if you're in Brooklyn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    506
    230
    97
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I'm hooked!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I had heard about Peter Luger's for years but just never had the right opportunity to visit.
Yes, it's a wait at the bar to be seated as very crowded. Yes, the decor is well, not why you go there... But it's SO noisy and you just feel that energy when you go into a place so well known and so New York and see the eye candy of ALL types of characters that make up this special city I call home. Of course I had expectations but truthfully, there is a reason why this restaurant "IS", and it's the steak. That simple.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best porterhouse ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We took the subway from Times Square and only had to walk 3-4 blocks. Place was crowded but we had reservations. Our waiter was awesome and talked is through the menu. Get the bacon and save it to eat with your steak. We got the steak for two and it was heavenly. Nothing else like it on earth. Not a bunch if fancy stuff just awesome steak - very simple. Great experience and will go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great steaks in a fun and relaxed setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I went to this legendary steakhouse for the first time while in NYC this year. I went for lunch with several friends and my wife, and we ordered family style. The porterhouse steaks can be ordered "per person" and since we had 9 of us, we ordered two of the "steak for two" servings ($99 each) plus lots of sides and salads...and shrimp cocktail to start. Just remember not to fill up on bread, even though it's very good too.

The salads were traditional: wedge, caesar, tomato & onion. All were very tasty and so was the jumbo shrimp cocktail. We also ordered some their "sizzling bacon" appetizer, which was basically fried pork belly (tasty!).

The steaks arrived on big oval platters, sliced to share. Each of the "steak for two" platters held 2 large porterhouse steaks, sliced and over a pool of au jus. We also ordered German fried potatoes and creamed spinach to go with. We managed to eat just about everything, while drinking our weight in beer too. We skipped dessert.

If you've never been, I highly recommend a visit for either lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Every time I'm in NYC, I book a table for lunch at Luger's steak house. The result is always the same: I go out from this place happy and extremely satisfied. Still the best steak house in NYC.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Luger Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peter Luger Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter Luger Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.