We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best steak around ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Luger Steak House

Peter Luger Steak House
178 Broadway, Brooklyn, NY 11211-6131
(718) 387-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 4,515 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Qld, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not the best steak around ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This restaurant came highly recommended by friends. We all had high expectations of our meals and I must say that neither of us were particularly impressed. I'm not a huge steak eater, but my friends thoroughly enjoy a good steak. We have all had better steaks elsewhere or sometimes even better at home on the BBQ! Benny, our waiter was excellent, explained everything very well for us. All I can say - don't rush here.....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    458
    212
    93
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“OMG !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

What can I say ?! Words just can't describe how AMAZING this Steak House is ! Winner of more than 20 Zagat awards, their steaks are world class. So worth the cab fare to reach brooklyn. Get the T-Bone steak, and you'll know !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston,wv
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The "best" is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not only a meal but an experience. The atmosphere was more "beer house" than intimate fine dining, but you go here for one thing...some of the best steak in the US. The waiter was impecable...friendly, extremly knowledgable(even told us when we had ordered TOO much) and in good humor,considering the crowd...a true professional. The steak (portehouse for 4) was mouth watering and the sides were portioned just right. I wore a jacket, some wore T-shirts. At a $100 per person some sort of "dress code" might be expected.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place has been around for years and hasn't changed. Its not fancy but very good. They serve family style and give you gold chocolate coins at the end of the meal.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Like butta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everyone has to go to Peter Luger once in their life time. Menu is small which is great. That way they can stay focused on their steak. ;) We ordered a mixed greens salad 'cause we needed some kind of vegi. It was good, nothing to write home about. We also ordered two slices of bacon. Delicious! Thick, little fat, balanced smokey salty flavor. Then the steak for two came. What can I say. I didn't even need a knife. I could cut it with my fork it was so tender and the flavor was spot on. I spoke to the waiter, and I hope I have this correct, he told me that there are two sisters in their 80's that still work there and own it. One of the sisters still goes to the meat market and hand selects all of their beef for their steaks and she gets first pick, before all other restaurants in NYC. Thought that was worth mentioning. Don't bother with the bar and wine list. Neither is very extensive or good. More of a convenience/service for diners. Stay focused on the steak, as Peter Luger does, and you won't go wrong.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Luger Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peter Luger Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter Luger Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.