We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great pizza at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grimaldi's Pizzeria

Grimaldi's Pizzeria
1 Front St, Brooklyn, NY 11201
(718) 858-4300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 4,409 restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Billerica, MA, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a great pizza at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

So we asked the concierge for something to do, and she said - why not walk over the Brooklynn bridge, see Lady Liberty and the NY ski-line then have a real Brooklynn pizza at Grimaldi's. We said SURE.

Well, because we were eating an early dinner before a show, we went with a small pizza - no toppings (just the cheese, sauce, and basil). Well were we surprised at both the size of said small pizza as well as the tastiness - OMG it was great. Almost ordered a second.

Place gets busy fast, so get there early or on non-peak meal times.

Best meal value we had during our visit to NYC this past weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    542
    436
    277
    94
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tillson, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go to this restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A long wait (1hr+), raw pizza and sausage topping. Took the sausage off but pizza tasted bad. Worst tasting one we ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Let Down !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had read so many good reviews about this restaurant I was looking forward to enjoying my Pizza. We were a party of ten and ordered 5 large pizzas to share. We waited one hour for our food after ordering, then three of the pizzas were wrongly allocated to our table, we ordered white wine and red was delivered, this was then changed. The pizzas were enjoyable even though three were wrongly served.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“"New" location, same good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Didn't realize that they moved a few buildings down from where they used to be a couple of years ago. "New" building used to be a bank so nice old architecture but I mourn the loss of the authentic pizzeria feel the old place had. Also, part of the experience for me was the Brooklyn attitude the servers had as they yelled at each other across the restaurant. With this visit, they were actually pleasant. What? I want to be yelled at for putting too many toppings on my pizza!

Pizza, however, was still good. This is becoming a routine for me whenever I visit NYC- subway to Grimaldi's, walk back on Brooklyn Bridge.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best pizzeria's in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I visited on a Saturday afternoon. I went to the Queens location in Douglaston. The restaurant is small but, has a nice atmosphere. They do not serve slices and do not accept cash. I ordered a small traditional pie with six slices. The service was good. The sauce, cheese and crust are authentic.I have tasted many different pizza shops in NYC and this pizza is exceptional. I plan on returning with my wife soon. Enjoy!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimaldi's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Grimaldi's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimaldi's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.