We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamonte's Restaurant

Bamonte's Restaurant
32 Withers St, Brooklyn, NY 11211
(718) 384-8831
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 4,108 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you have to go to a place like Bamonte's just because. Like Peter Luger's, Bamonte's is a Williamsburg institution. Certainly a different clientele than you will see at the trendy places. People have probably been coming here their whole life. The ambience is great, the prices are about verge, but so is the food. We had to try it once but if you want Italian that you will remember for the food, there are better choices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    8
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Bamonte's Restaurant has been in Brooklyn for over 100 years. It it is very popular with New Yorkers I too remember eating there when I was a youngster. So, when I am in Brooklyn, I will eat there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Throwback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stepping into Bamonte's reminded me of a place Sinatra and the Rat Pack might hang out in. Our service was attentive but a little aloof. Average sauce's and pasta's. The location was hard to beat being next door to our hotel, Le Jolie. I'd eat again if I stay at this hotel. Good neighborhood Italian.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip to Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having just eaten at Peter Luger's, I was not expecting to be blown away by a restaurant for the second time in two nights. But Sunday night dinner at Bamonte's was an even better experience. Although obviously from out-of-town, I was treated like a regular customer. The waiter graciously agreed to provide an appetizer-sized portion of an entree (an outstanding chicken livers and mushrooms). Eggplant parmigiana is a dish I've ordered for decades, and I've never tasted a better version than Bamonte's. The bartender mixes a perfect negroni, and the grappa was comped. The clientele was mostly families, some with children. Everyone seemed relaxed and unhurried. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time for a Delicious Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Bamonte's is a treat to all the senses. Walking in, you are immediately back in time. When was the last time you saw waiters dressed in black jackets/trousers and white ties? Tables can be configured for large parties and forjust 2 people. It's as much fun to look at everyone enjoying themselves as it is to take a gander at the photographs of noteables on the walls. Even Tony Soprano and The Pope! The restaurant is over 100 years old with a sparkling kitchen that inspires confidence.
The food is excellent. One of us had ziti with brocoli, one had thewhole fish and an assortment of vegetables, and I had the ravioli with meat sauce. It was the best I've ever had!
Bamonte's is about a 10 minute walk from the Larimer subway station through an Italian neighborhood.
For delicious food, ambiance, and a dose of contagious good cheer, this is the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamonte's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bamonte's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamonte's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.