We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant in Brooklyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belleville - CLOSED

Belleville
330 5th St, Brooklyn, NY 11215-2892
718-832-9777
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: (Corner of 5th St and 5th Ave)
Transit: F,R,M,G to 4th Ave/9th St
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wife and I visiting NYC for the week - stumbled upon this restaurant and went for it. She had the wild Mushroom risotto, I had the mushroom bisque and grilled salmon - very good food. Good music/atmosphere, pleasant unobtrusive service. TUE evening dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LA PLATA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“USE YOUR METROCARD AND VISIT A PARIS BISTRO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very pleasant experience in 5th Ave. Restaurant Row in Brooklyn. The first time I went for Brunch. My quiche was fine but service was even better. The Bellini was on the house just because I offered the manager to share my table with another guest. (The place was crowded
and I was alone). After this I returned twice for dinner. I had fish with a side order of mainly spinach. The creme brulee was real fine. The second time I had the meat plater and a delicious
crepe with ice cream. The owner, a french gentleman, came to say hello or better "bon soir".
Even if you are in Manhattan you should consider this restaurant. It´s a 40/45 min from midtown,
R train Union St. station (4th Ave @ Union St). Sorry American, United et al but MTA fares to this Paris Bistro are lower than yours.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good brasserie in Park Slope”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice local French "comfort food". Nice food in a comfortable & leisurely setting. Had nice salads, mussels & sandwich. Only regret is that on weekends they serve very egg-heavy brunch instead of a full lunch menu. Been there a few times for dinner and I think that's more of what I prefer. But will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Would be Better at $40 a Head”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a nice enough French-ish joint in Park Slope. But for the price (close to $100 a head) I would want to have a truly memorable experience, not just an okay one. Service was just a little off (standoffish and poorly timed). Food was okay but not much more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Belle Epoque Brasserie in Brooklyn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having given my recent review of CAFÉ LAFAYETTE the title “Mini French Brasserie”, I was tempted to use “Maxi French Brasserie” for BELLEVILLE. Like the Café Lafayette in nearby Fort Greene, this place has captured the ambiance of a French Belle Epoque Brasserie, but Belleville is much more spacious and tops the Café Lafayette in just about every category.

The walls are mostly covered with stained, antique-looking mirrors. There is a good measure of space between tables. French popular music (albeit not from La Belle Epoque) was being piped in.

Today, I had the “Lunch Prix Fixe”: You get a choice of main course (mostly sandwiches and salads) and a dessert for $19. I had the Croque Monsieur with fries, and the apple tarte. I washed it down with a bottle of Amstel Light ($7).

The Croque Monsieur was sandwich-like with sliced ham between bread, and a layer of melted cheese on top. It tasted good although it was hard to eat with your hands because of the cheese. The fries were decent. The portions generous.

The apple tarte was round and like a small pancake in size, and it came with a scoop of ice cream. The tarte was okay but I was expecting something a bit thicker.

The Lunch Prix Fixe isn’t that great of a deal because many main course and dessert combos come to less than the $19 price. My choices would have been only one dollar more if I had ordered them separately. But I loved the ambiance of this place and highly recommend it if you want to experience France in Brooklyn.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belleville also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belleville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.