We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent mexican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veracruz

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Veracruz
195 Bedford Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11211
(718) 486-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Veracruz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,245 of 4,110 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“excellent mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Best mexican food I have ever had! Def try shrimp nachos as an appetizer- my no 1. I also reccomend: White Fish Ceviche, shrimp sinaloa and chicken burrito. Yummy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not the same”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Used to go every month 15 years ago. It closed for personal reasons. Reopened not the same. The guac and most of the meals are over cilantroed and not as tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“not a true mexican”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Since we were staying on Bedford and have a thing for mexican food we had to try Vera Cruz. Unfortunately we did this before checking the internet for reviews. What a big mistake to think you get true mexican food here. The food was colourless. It was poorly spiced, which made everything taste the same. This is hard because beans surely have a different taste than rice... We changed our mind about the menu, but it was not understood by the kitchen staff. So we ended up with 3 in stead of 2 dishes. Lucky for us the waitress let us pay for just the 2.
We heard good things about their margarita's, but haven't tried them. Perhaps on another trip when we feel more comforable setting steps in this establishment again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Rats! Yes, Rats!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've been to Veracruz 2-3 years ago, and I really liked it. So this time, I wanted to bring a few friends from abroad to this place as we were having a few drinks in the neighbourhood. They'll never forgive me!!
We sat in the garden, and we saw rats running around! Absolutely disgusting and the thought of it makes me sick once again, as I write this review. Moreover, the food was absolutely bad! Both my appetizer ("queso fundido", i.e. melted chease) and my main dish were served cold. The beer instead was warm. Nuff said! Never again!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Mex.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Good value Maxican with good atmosphere kind of sums up this place for me. Ive stayed with my family for 2 weeks in Williamsburg and we have dined well almost every night. As we did here. The burritos were tasty but I wont rave about them back home. It was also kid friendly as all the places in Williamsburg and we made great conversation with other guests. This was pretty unique and I cant say if this is usual at Veracruz or if we were lucky.
All in all a good experience and can be recommended for a Mex night out.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veracruz also viewed

 

Been to Veracruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veracruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.