We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juliana's Pizza

Juliana's Pizza
19 Old Fulton Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
+1 718-596-6700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4,108 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Juliana's, a New York-style pizzeria. Juliana's heralds the return of Patsy Grimaldi-not only to the NYC restaurant scene, but to the original location under the Brooklyn Bridge where he co-founded Grimaldi's Pizzeria with his late wife, Carol. Unbeknownst to many, Pat & Carol severed their affiliation with Grimaldi's over a decade ago when they sold the business (along with the name). Even though they were no longer involved in the restaurant, they never lost their passion for serving truly great pizza. And so, with a desire to re-live a "dream come true", they have partnered with close friend and former guest Matthew Grogan to establish Juliana's, a neighborhood pizzeria, preparing and serving pies the way Patsy has for generations. Named in honor of Pat's mother, Maria 'Juliana' Lancieri, Juliana's occupies 19 Old Fulton Street, in the Fulton Ferry Historic District, in the building that was once home to Grimaldi's.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was the best pizza! The service was attentive even though the place was very busy. A must when visiting New York. This is the real deal, the real Grimaldi!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    155
    29
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good pie. Baaaaaa service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I do not know if the service is jut Brooklyn or se sort of act. Excellent pie. Good tangy sauce & crust. Cheese just right. Owner showed me to a table & walked off. Good food real quick & they began taking up plate & pulling up another table for the next group while I was still eating. Walking out the door & the owner is hawking the next set of customers. Great pie but was hearses like a sheep. Won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Forget queuing for 'Grimaldis' or Lombardis, this is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the real deal, the original location, the original brick coal oven, the real Grimaldis run by Grimaldi himself. Without the ridiculous queues next door at the other 'Grimaldis'.

We arrived quite early at lunch hour (yes, even Julianas has a queue) so were quickly seated by the friendly staff. It's decorated nicely, simple, modern with the brick oven and kitchen dominating the far end of the room for your viewing pleasure.

We started with a delicious goats cheese and walnut salad. Simple, fresh and lightly dressed.

The pizza is seriously good. It's better than what I've had in Italy. The meatballs and sausage are something of a legend here, so we had to try that combo with sweet onions and even the group next to us enquired and ordered the same combo. The pizza comes out of the oven, literally >steaming< hot, right to your table. Best of all, there's loads of toppings, mine was piled with the stuff and plenty of cheese and sauce and a finishing touch of fresh basil leaves. A small pizza is plenty for two. The base was sublime, chewy, thin and slightly crisped on the base and toppings go right to the edge. Absolutely, totally, utterly delicious!

Pizza is more expensive at Julianas compared to next door or Lombardis, but in return you get what you pay for. More toppings, better service and a better pizza. I can't fault Juliana's. I guess in a few years time the queues here will be just as big as next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Coal-Fired Pizza in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fuhgeddabout about Grimaldi's - Juliana's is the real "Grimaldi's".

My 12-year old and I were on our way to Grimaldi's for lunch. Fortunately we found out beforehand that the original owners of Grimaldi's sold their restaurant. The new owner proceeded to open numerous other Grimaldi's and the quality went down. The original owner was so upset, he opened another restaurant to make his famous pizza. Since he sold the naming rights to "Grimaldi's", he had to use another name - Julianna's.

So if you've heard about Grimaldi's pizza as being the best "brick oven" or "coal fired" pizza in New York, it's true - you just have to go to Julianna's to get it! Oh, and they are right next door to each other right under the Brooklyn Bridge so you can decide for yourself once you get there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Don't wait on Grimaldis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was told the whole story by our water taxi driver on the fallout and reopening of these 2 places we had to wait but a few minutes to get in here where the original place was lined up for maybe an hour. The pizza was just wonderful after eating the " famous Johns in Time Square " and not all that impressed this was a welcome change and well worth the talk of NY pizza. Also had a 6 point Brewery beer to go with it was nice beer that added a nice addition to the dinner. Also this place is easy to find if your on the water taxi and just want to try it like we did .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juliana's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Juliana's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juliana's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.