We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why wait in Grimaldi lines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juliana's Pizza

Juliana's Pizza
19 Old Fulton Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
+1 718-596-6700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4,515 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Juliana’s, a New York-style pizzeria. Juliana’s heralds the return of Patsy & Carol Grimaldi—not only to the NYC restaurant scene, but to the original location under the Brooklyn Bridge where they founded Grimaldi’s Pizzeria. Unbeknownst to many, Pat & Carol ended their association with Grimaldi’s more than a decade ago when they sold the business (along with the name). Even though they were no longer involved in the restaurant, they never lost their passion for serving (and eating) truly great pizza. And so, after many requests from friends and former customers—and a desire to re-live a “dream come true”—they have partnered with a long-time collaborator to establish Juliana’s, a neighborhood pizzeria, preparing and serving pies the way Patsy has for generations. Named in honor of Pat’s mother, Maria ‘Juliana’ Lancieri, Juliana’s occupies 19 Old Fulton Street, in the Fulton Ferry Historic District, in the building that was once home to Grimaldi’s.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Why wait in Grimaldi lines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went to Brooklyn with two things on our agenda, first walk the Brooklyn Bridge, second eat at Grimaldi's. We have heard rave reviews about Grimaldi's on the food and travel channels so it was a must do. upon coming up the street we saw a very long line and we were hungry. Luckily we approached from the river side and there in front of us was Juliana's. We looked at the sign which stated it was owned by Patsy and Carol Grimaldi the people who started Grimaldi's next door. We figure why not try it since there wasn't a line. Good choice because their pizza was outstanding and I don't think it could be much better if we waited an hour next door. Save the tie and try Juliana's it is small on space but large on taste!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    140
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were going to go to Grimaldi's as that's what tourists do, but a friendly NYPD officer told us to go to Juliana's next door as it was owned by the original Grimaldi family and used the original oven. I have to say the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the staff was outstanding. It was a highlight of our trip. The waiter forgot to add the meatballs to our pizza but then gave us free coffees and cookies, which were outstanding.
When we came out after a long leisurely lunch in a fantastic setting we were tempted to tell the long queue of people waiting to get into Grimaldi's next door not to bother as they were missing out on a great experience.
We'll definitely be back on our next trip to NYC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is in the former Grimaldi's location and owners. This pizza is amazing fresh ingredients and so tasty. I was in brooklyn for a week of work and went here twice. The pizza is sold by the pie not by the slice. But it is definitely worth buying a pie. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Same oven, new decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is in the former Grimaldi's location. Same oven, which is important. We got a classic tomato/mozzarella/basil and added anchovies. I got goat cheese (no mozz) on my half, which was harder than it should have been to explain to the adorable waiter. He forgot a couple things, due to lunch rush and youth, I think, but the other servers had his back, which was nice to see. The crust is a bit thicker and more glutinous than the old Grimaldi's crust, so a bit less snap and charcoal. Would have liked more basil, but we did get a LOT of anchovy, which was mega tasty. Still a really good pizza though, and our wait was 10 min. Compared to the 2 hr wait for a table at Grimaldi's , which has moved next door to a bigger location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Proper pizza by proper Italians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Over 3000 miles to try an authentic NYC pizza and wasn't disappointed, I read once a pizza (margarita) should take 3 mins to cook, I watched mine go in the oven went to the 'restroom' came out and it was done perffeto!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juliana's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Juliana's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juliana's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.