We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One Girl Cookies

One Girl Cookies
33 Main St, Brooklyn, NY 11201
(347) 338-1268
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 4,604 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

It's ok and it's just that - just ok.

The place is decent, clean and overall pretty but it seems to lack a vibe that either makes it homey or hip - two options that cafes choose from to make them memorable.

One Girl Cookies is a decent place, don't get me wrong. But it lacks the necessary ambience to truly make it memorable.

It might be a problem in interior design or the layout - not sure yet.

I guess if you just want a decent cup of coffee and don't care about vibe or design, this place does its job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty nice cafe in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I got here on a sunday evening after a walk in the brooklyn bridge park. Its a tiny cafe, yet neither packed nor crowded as it is in starbuck. Staff were nice. I ordered a small latte n the orange hazelnut cake, all taste good. I seated for almost an hour reading my novel n enjoyed every single moment in the relaxed ambience of the cafe. Its my first time visit, n I ll definitely come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cookies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here after walking over the Brooklyn Bridge. Coffee was excellent - freshly brewed and the cookies were just the right size. Service was quick and friendly. Best choices were the brownie and the little cookies with the chocolate cinnamon filling. Next best was the lemon slice. Great atmosphere too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute but slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I came here with a group of 14. We just wanted to make a quick stop to get some cookies before venturing out to do a tour of Brooklyn Bridge Park. Sadly we waited in line, and then finally just decided to get a pre-packed box of 48 cookies for the group, because it took 20 minutes for even ONE of us to get to the check-out counter. It didnt seem to be a particularly crowded day nor did the line look that long, but I think there were lots of people picking up cakes and that seemed to take up a lot of time. The box of 48 cookies ended up being quite pricey and I'm not sure they were worth the wait + price, plus we ended up missing all but 10 minutes of the Brooklyn Bridge Park tour. That isn't to say this can't be a supremely enjoyable experience or be the cookies of ones dreams. The staff was friendly enough, it was just very slow to check out. Perhaps on a weekday is would be faster or a moment when you weren't pressed for time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Wow, every bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

is exquisite, even the little ones. A nice cake too (except the icing) and some good quality coffees. Great place to meet a girlfriend for "sinful" eating in tiny bites (expensive so quality rather than quantity here). Try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Girl Cookies also viewed

 

Been to One Girl Cookies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Girl Cookies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.