We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lxure

Save Saved
You added Lxure to your Saves list
Lxure
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lxure
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   96 Parkville Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11230 (Formerly Veranda Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
free lunch for 2
Ranked #10 of 55 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not the best location but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

These apartments were nice and clean and the housekeeper was very helpful but they location is not great. My friend and I spent 5 days in New York for a city break and it took ages to travel to pretty much anywhere we wanted to go. We spent a lot of time on subways so we could get to Williamsburg, Manhattan, Greenpoint, Five Leaves etc. If you go out in Williamsburg or Manhattan and get a taxi home, it will set you back about $30. The location is good for getting to Coney Island or Di Fara's famous pizza place but not much else. I think this could have been clearer on the website because as I tourist, I did not understand the area/subway system until I got to New York and got a subway map.

The apartments are nicely furnished with modern fixtures but there were a couple of things missing that I would expect from a "suite" such as a glass/cup to put your toothbrush in. Also, not convenient if you want 24 hour access to a reception. Continental breakfast was not appealing either - carb heavy and could be improved with just adding cheese even.

On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and the shower was nice and powerful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Owner at Lxure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the tikme to post a review. LXURE is located 30 minutes from midtown manhattan as clearly stated on our website. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Hope we can see you again on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

From the moment we entered the front door, the fresh scent and serene atmosphere of this charming place enveloped us. The self entry system was convenient and hassle free and the suites were designed in a "modern chic" style. We had a great night sleep and the breakfast, delivered at our front door picnic style, was delicious! You can tell everything was prepared with lots of attention to detail. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Owner at Lxure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a wedding party, and we had our overseas guests stay over to participate in our week of celebration!! Our guests were raving about the outstanding immaculate suites and services!
The friendly staff has been helpful to making their stay an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Owner at Lxure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad youguests enjoyed the LXURE experience ad look forward to hosting your guests again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Tiffany Villa was THE most beautiful place I've ever rented. The pictures did NOT do this home justice and the pictures alone are breath taking. Everything offered was readily available and the neighborhood was very friendly. It really felt as though we were in home away from home. The owner and the management staff were the best with any questions or concerns and even checked in to see how our vacation was going!!! Anyone staying in the Miami area should CERTAINLY chose this as their paradise. This was the best place to get away when you're traveling from the concrete and huge buildings in Brooklyn, NY. They have definitely earned a lifetime customer.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Owner at Lxure, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to pst a review. So glad you had such an amazing LXURE experience. We look forward to see you back again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were so glad we found this place in Brooklyn. We come very often but this is the first (not the last!) time we stayed at Lxure.
What a treat. The hotel is very quaint , ye thas modern and spacious suites . I love that the design is classic but yet very clean and modern .
Its seemed to be a bit out of the neighborhood initially , . But we were just a few minutes away from DUMBO, Prospect Park, Chinatown and some great restaurants. We used our car, and also the subway to get us to Manhattan.(much better than taking a car )
The staff was very helpful and accomodating. We had trouble logging on to our free wifi, but within 5 minutes someone came to assist us.
They have a fabulous swim spa that my girlfriend and I made a reservation to use privately.
This is a place that I will recommend to friends in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The presidential suite has a fabulous large terrace. Next time will take that suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Owner at Lxure, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its always nice to hear how much you enjoyed the LXURE experience. Looking forward to see you on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The name of this hotel says it all. Its PURE LXURE! We felt liked we walked into a private villa in France. We stayed in the Presidential suite and had an amazing private terrace that was accessible from the living area with huge glass doors. We absolutely loved the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom , it had this very sophisticated crystal chandelier and high end finishes,
The beds were very comfortable, and the leather sofa and chairs as well. We came with a family so it was wonderful that we had place in the second bedroom for 2 adult children. Breakfast delivered to our door was very convenient way to start our day
The neighborhood seemed very safe and friendly. The hotel recommended some very good restaurants that were within walking distance. The subway down the block took us to Manhattan in approx. 30 minutes.
We couldn't believe that we got such a great deal in Brooklyn, so much luxurious space for such a great deal.
Altogether a wonderful LXURE experience.

Room Tip: The rooms with private terrace is really special as they are very private and it makes you feel like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Owner at Lxure, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed the LXURE experience.Our passion is to offer a LXURE experience to all our guests. Looking forward to see you back in New York soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hi All,

this was the most disappointing hotel I have ever been to!!! I do not know where to start, but the first of all - the SECURITY!!! I almost fainted when we arrived and found out that we cannot get into our room but our neighbours do!!! The owner of the hotel has sent us the security codes to get into building and into the suite - well, never ever!!!! The security code to the suite did not work, we were not sure why and asked our neighbours for help. Our neighbour opened the door with completely different security code!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Further, I know that European and American idea of a kitchen may differ but to call a kitchen a pair of drawers with no plates, no kitchen supplies, no cooker...well, absolutely useless kitchen...!

In addition, this was the first hotel I have ever gone to where not a single map of the city was provided in the room. The cab fare was 30% more than to get to Manhattan. The train to the city is quite near but to get there, it takes app. 40 minutes! Also, the pool? Well, be ready to pay for the pool at the hotel. Why do they mention that there is a pool when it is not included in the price?! Of course, no elevator, no decent groceries near the hotel, etc.

I will never ever stay at this hotel!!! The worst value for money ever!!! Please be careful with this hotel! The security is awful!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Owner at Lxure, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Sorry this experience wasn't what you expected. Most LXURE guests really like our keyless entry system which provides a secure acces code to gain entry to their room. This allows them the covenience of no key or key card to keep track of. IIt is impossible that a neighbor has your code this in fact was a staff memeber trying to help you.
We do not have a kitchen in each suite, however each suite is equipped with a kitchenette which contains a refrigerator microwave and coffee maker. Many of our suites have full size refrigerators while some even have a burner. We do not provide dishes and pots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lxure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lxure

Address: 96 Parkville Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11230 (Formerly Veranda Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lxure 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lxure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lxure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.