We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 10 in Brooklyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roman's
243 Dekalb Ave, Brooklyn, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 4,509 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top 10 in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I go at least once a month. The food is always fresh. The flavors are always interesting and balanced. We love the servers because they always help us find some good dairy free options.

Always a small menu that changes everyday. The kind of place you can try something new or different. Highly recommended.

BONUS: one of the best dairy-free desserts of all-time...Mast Brothers' dark chocolate sorbet. Amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food & ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a phenomenal dinner from start to finish. Through the capable guidance of the staff we enjoyed starters, pasta, wine and dessert, all of which surprised and delighted us.
Simple, yet delicious and delicately balanced flavors. 100/100. Oh lord.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Brilliant food & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Dinner at this busy and popular Brooklyn restaurant was a delight! The dishes were interesting, unique and executed to an exquisite perfection. Even a seemingly simple pasta dish was a feast for the tastebuds.

The restaurant staff was welcoming, knowledgeable and prompt. The wine pairings were on point and the aperitif and digestif coctails rounded out the evening nicely.

Kudos to the chef & staff at Roman's!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch at Roman's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Decided to visit the Brooklyn Flea and when we asked a friend where to have lunch they told us to come to Roman's. What a great choice. Very different menu featuring lots of fresh herbs and vegetables. Went with 4 people and since we couldn't decide what to order, we decided to share all the dishes, and they did not disappoint. Would have never expected the diverse and interesting menu from the looks of the place. Truly enjoyed our lunch and cocktails and look forward to returning next time we are in the area.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Fresh Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

On our way home my wife and I had an early dinner with my son and his wife who live in Clinton Hills. This is one of their favorite local restaurants and the food did not disappoint. We had a couple of starters including one with ramps, the pasta and a vegetable main course for our vegetarian and a couple of deserts. Since we were driving to Maryland we didn't have wine but the wine policy encourages diners to bring your own wine. We plan to dine here again when we visit Brooklyn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman's also viewed

 

Been to Roman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.