We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meatball Shop

Meatball Shop
170 Bedford Ave, Willamsburg, Brooklyn, NY 11249
(718) 551-0520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 4,509 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nothing very special about this place. But boy, it sure draws in a crowd. I think it's so gimmicky -- the food is mediocre at best.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    40
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, crowd and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Everything about this place is great. The food is amazing, almost every combo you do with the balls is great.

Only downside would be the waiting time, but it's DEF worth it! Everything else is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Meatballs go with side dishes...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Found the place by accident while walking down the Bedford Avenue. Entering in, it looked a bit busy, smelling good, great music, active cooking in the kitchen, at the bar...still some tables free. We sat down for lunch, ordered the lemonade of the day and wrote our food selection on the laminated card/menus. You could have 4 types of meatballs and numerous side dishes as roasted vegetables, spicy broccolis, mash potatoe.. all made fresh and great quality. We had a good time. It was a first time for us with meatballs and we enjoyed the place and the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great selection, fun restaurant in busy Williamsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Meatball Shop in Brooklyn is fantastic. It's busy, busy BUSY, but they say that anything that's that busy is worth it and that's definitely true here. The drink menu is awesome, and the selection of the types of meatballs you can choose from are great. You can have plain, or medium or spicy, they cater to all types of meatball lovers. The pork meatballs were amazing and the pesto ones, DELISH!

The outdoor seating, although small, is great, if you can get a seat, especially for people watching. There's not enough outdoor seating, but they're working with a small space, so at least they've got some!

The servers are good, but don't expect them to be hovering over you when it's as busy as this place is, but they are as attentive as they can be considering.

The prices aren't terrible, although I think they can be improved upon. I didn't feel like anything was outrageous, especially since I had a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious meatballs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

i don't even care for most meatballs so that should say enough!! they're never dense, always light and the meat is always fresh. the heroes are delicious and the pasta with pesto sauce and pork meatballs to die for!! highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meatball Shop also viewed

 

Been to Meatball Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meatball Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.