We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK But Expected More” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pok Pok NY

Pok Pok NY
127 Columbia Street, Brooklyn, NY
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #238 of 4,410 restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OK But Expected More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Don't get to NY as often as I used to but when in town always looking to try the latest "hot" restaurant so headed to the Brooklyn Waterfront for what was supposed to be some of the best Thai food in town. Miraculously got a parking space in front and put name in for a table. We were a party of 4 and reservations are only for 5 or more. We were told that the wait would be less than an hour and that we could wait at the bar in the restaurant at the corner, not a great start. Table was ready in about 20 minutes and we were led down a dirty alley to a blue door and into what could best be described as a large hut with heaters. We were all rather adventurous types so didn't really mind the strange beginning and looking forward to the great food that we heard about it. First course were famous ribs, unfortunatley about same quality as those I get in my local Chineese takeout place in FL but about triple the price. Duck was good but by no means great, wings were excellent for wings, mussels were average to slightly above average. Overall an average meal at average NY prices with good service but absolutely no atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    20
    20
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Such an interesting place! Food was excellent, our waiter was wonderful, we asked a ton of questions and he was able to help us select dishes that our group loved. Only had an hour and a half wait on Saturday evening, which we expected longer. So glad we went and waited it out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Food flavorful...but thrown at you!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Drinks hadn't arrived, but ribs did and sticky rice...then shrimp chips,chicken wings...THEN the cocktails and the shrimp in a clay pot. When I asked if the service could slow down since we hadn't received our beverages yet, I was politely told "No. The food is served when it's ready." Table was tiny so we kept maneuvering to try to make room. All the dishes were delicious and nicely portioned . We do respect a restaurant wanting to turn over tables and never linger over dessert, but this meal was like running a marathon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Chile
1 review
“Best chicken wings in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The papaya salad, ribs, minced pork salad, and Bronzino are delish! Not the typical gooey Thai fare. Light and delicate. I love the whiskey soda desert!!! Main trick is to go there in the middle of the week at 5:30. No wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pok Pok NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Finally got to eat in Pok Pok NY after a failed initial attempt. Got there at 6PM on a frigid night. Put our name on the list and was told it would be a 2 hour wait (which it was). Went to a bar on Smith Street and hung out until it was our time. Got seated in the back section which in the summer is an open air patio. In the winter it is closed off and has heaters hung from the ceiling. It was still pretty cold. Some of us kept our coats and hats on. The ladies in our group headed off to the bathroom which required going back outside, into the main restaurant area and waiting in line for probably 20 minutes since there is only 1 bathroom in the place. Finally all seated we ordered. Got some Singha beers, which considering how cold it was outside (and inside) were strangely warm. Ordered 2 plates of their wings which were good, not great. Kinda salty. Then a few in our group got the ribs, I got the curried pork, another got the flank steak salad and another got the spicy pork neck. I would say all the food was good to very good. Well seasoned, appropriately spicy. Fairly small portions. Rice extra. The waiter was attentive and informative.
So.....considering the 2 hour wait for a table, the ridiculous wait for a bathroom, the chilly setting in the enclosed patio.....I doubt I'll be back. But it is good food. Just a bit too much work to get it. The bill came to $180 for 2 wings, 6 dinners and 4 beers. 20% gratuity was included.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pok Pok NY also viewed

 

Been to Pok Pok NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pok Pok NY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.