We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amazing Birthday!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
347 MacDonough Street, Brooklyn, NY 11233   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Amazing Birthday!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Akwaaba Inn - Brooklyn to celebrate my birthday. OMG --- It was AMAZING! My friend and I were met with such warm and inviting energy. The architecture and complementing decorations were incredible! The staff was extremely attentive and accommodating, especially Erica. She made certain that everything was to my liking for my special day. The location is ideally close to the subway (three blocks) and affords a quick train ride to Manhattan. The bonus was having the opportunity to join the other guests at breakfast for wonderful food, conversation, and laughter! It was one the best birthdays I have ever had. Thank you immensely!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    27
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
116
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Glenn and Monique run a truly wonderful oasis in Bed-Sty. Apart from the place, the rooms and the breakfast (all first rate B&B) there is the attitude and the care. We had a medical emergency while staying here, and Glenn and manager Erica moved heaven and earth to help. Without them a crisis would have been a disaster. There is pure hospitality skill at work at Akwaaba, the kind that is rare to find - no matter how much you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at Akwaaba Inn, Brooklyn with my husband and baby this Spring and it was absolutely wonderful. I couldn't believe that we could stay somewhere so luxurious, especially in New York. The architecture and decoration are grand, refined and harmonious. Monique, Glen and Erica made our stay comfortable and easy, and breakfast was delicious! It is a serene and remarkable place.

There was a stained glass window in our bedroom with a blossoming grand magnolia tree outside. We slept under a canopy of lace and church bells rang in the day. There was a huge jacuzzi and silk dressing gowns. It was so beautiful that we were enticed to stay longer at Akwaaba than explore the streets of New York!
The location is convenient, near A train subway. The street is superb and I liked the area which is a strange mix of grandeur and regeneration.
It was also a pleasure to meet the other guests during the breakfast. Again, I would never have imagined that I would stay in such a friendly place in New York!

Unforgettable and exquisite. Thank you

Room Tip: Jumping the Room is magical. All of the hotel is exceptionally beautiful. (No swimming pool, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Yes I agree with the other reviewers that this place is full of antiques. Some are broken, like the chandelier in our room and the floors in our bathroom. Is that the beauty of antiques?
Anyways the hosts are great and the breakfasts come with protein, not continental and it is beautifully presented. They should actually put pictures of their breakfasts on their web site.

We have been at many b&b s around the world and its always the hosts that can make or break it. The hosts here make it worthwhile.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and it was noisy, kids fighting loudly till midnight and early morning com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wow what an amazing, stunning and wonderful place!!
We were greeted by Glen, the owner, he was sooooooo nice, when he saw my boyfriend had difficulties to walk, he took our heavy pieces of luggage and took them upstairs himself. Then he showed us the room. Ah, the room... Jumping the Broom suite..
Beautiful, full of light, stunning bathroom, smelling of wood. with many stunning decoration details.
The breakfasts (cooked according to your tastes) were each morning different, delicious and scrumptious.
The house itself is beautiful, in a great safe and quiet neighborhood. You'll never believe you're in New York when you come back to such a nice and calm place.

We only have one regret: to stay only 3 nights. Next time we're in NYC, we'll be back at Akwaaba!

Room Tip: we loved Jumping the Broom but I think the others are just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great weekend staying at this historic B&B in the Bed-Stuy area of Brooklyn. The hosts are wonderful and made my business-weekend very comfortable. I stayed in the "Jumping the Broom" bedroom which, like the entire house, is filled with antiques and decorated beautifully. The en-suite bathroom has a large hot-tub as well as a walk-in shower. The house, built in the 1800's, is in good shape considering the multiple owners it has had over the years. It exudes with character!

The host (Glenn) prepared wonderful full breakfasts for the guests, served in the immaculately-appointed formal dining room. The neighborhood is pretty nice and I felt safe walking to the end of the block to Peaches Restaurant for dinner. The area was relatively quiet and I thoroughly enjoyed interacting with the other guests during breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The service was excellent as well as the location, me and my husband enjoyed our anniversary weekend there. We stayed in the black memorabilia room which had a nice sized jet tub that was excellent for relaxing, we'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 MacDonough Street, Brooklyn, NY 11233
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Akwaaba, where we spoil you with old-fashioned graciousness and modern-day amenities. Check in to our 1860 Victorian Mansion and leave renewed and refreshed -- just 15 minutes away from Manhattan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Mansion Hotel Brooklyn
Akwaaba Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.