We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your home in Brooklyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
347 MacDonough Street, Brooklyn, NY 11233   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Gloucester, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“your home in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Oh my, what a place! It's unique in many ways -- architecturally ("Boardwalk Empire" filmed here twice,) rooted in a neighborhood that's both historic and close to the heart, and above all welcoming. If you're going to be bothered by a little peeling paint on the ceiling, I'll say right now: choose another place. But if you want to feel like you're part of something good, stay here. There are only 4 rooms, scrupulously clean and plush in a homey kind of way; and everything about the place feels personal without ever being intrusive. (Btw, I generally don't like the forced conviviality of B&Bs.) The cooking is a huge plus. There's a big Southern breakfast cooked by Glenn, the co-owner (w/ his wife Monique) of this and 4 or so other Akwaabas in other locations, and also a very substantial afternoon tea. All delicious, and the 2 - 6 people seated across from you are apt to be very diverse and interesting. If you're in Brooklyn/NYC and on a budget, you could easily survive the day on Akwaaba's breakfast + tea. However, if you get home for dinner or want a big brunch/lunch, try Peaches across the street -- it's terrific!

Btw, my daughter is now staying in Akwaaba's D.C. location for a week, and loving it!

Last word: this neighborhood is both growing and staying true to itself. That's complicated, of course, but it's so high-energy and also down-home on the way to where it's going. I loved it!

Room Tip: Ask about light. There's a ginormous, and lovely, tree that makes some rooms pretty dark. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    27
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
116
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watkins Glen, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second visit here and they only get better!
The staff and facilities are superb from initial contact to departure.
The breakfast is one of the best we have had anywhere.
The other guests are very interesting and friendly.
When you are here you are treated like a very valued guest.
It has our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a get- a - way and we found a great place. The hospitality was warm and friendly. The room was comfortable and romantic. The afternoon snack and morning breakfast were absolutely delicious. The best surprise was our evening turn- down. When we returned from dinner, the room was lit with candles all around (battery operated for safety reasons) and the Jacuzzi in the bathroom was filled with water and bubble bath. The setting was so calm and romantic. We were so surprised by the above and beyond steps the owners took to make our stay so special.

We wish we could have stayed longer. We plan on returning.

Room Tip: Look at the website to view the rooms so you can pick the decor you prefer. Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmont, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

we stayed at the Akwaaba B&B and had an excellent weekend. Glenn was an warm and helpful host during our stay. Breakfast was delicious and we found tasty places for lunch and dinner all within walking distance of Akwaaba. Getting to Down Town Brooklyn and Manhattan was easy using the subway. we will definitely be making another trip to Akwaaba.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Attended a milestone bday party at Akwaaba Mansion on a beautiful Saturday afternoon and enjoyed myself immensely. Akwaaba is a big old-fashioned house in the Bed-Stuy (Bedford-Stuyvesant) section of Brooklyn, NY that was renovated and turned into a B&B. We enjoyed ourselves in the 3 large rooms on the ground floor, on the glass-enclosed front porch where the bar was set-up, and outside on the side of the house where chairs and tables were arranged. There is a very small front yard that leads into a concrete patio-type area which surrounds one of the biggest trees I have ever seen in NY City. The DJ was set-up in what would have been the living room. Buffet was served in the dining room. So many antique african art peices decorated every nook, carved mahogany was everywhere you turned, and the crystal chandeliers were a delight. The owner, Glenn, was great and confirmed that their place in the Poconos is indeed open. He was in the middle of running a hot bath and laying rose petals for the guests soon to return to the rooms upstairs. The food was catered by their partner restaurant "Peaches" and it was quite good. Overall, loved it as a party space for about 75 guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at Akwaaba the first week of June. What a great place - a beautiful old home in a nice area - just steps from the subway to downtown Manhattan. We received a wonderful welcome upon arrival and the rest of the stay was just as good. Delicious breakfast every day (and different every day!), beautiful, clean and private room, and friendly, helpful hosts. All for a very reasonable price. I highly recommend it and hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I got the wonderful opportunity to stay at Brooklyn's Akwaaba Mansion for his birthday weekend. We never got a chance to get away to a honeymoon because our 17month old son soon followed. So in many ways this was an all in one getaway...well Akwaaba did not disappoint! We stayed in Brooklyn's Jumping the broom sweet complete with jacuzzi tub, private shower, and canopy bed. The entire mansion was beautifully decorated with antique furniture, eclectic art, and one of a kind pictures and documents that carved into our hearts an appreciation for it's historic Italian design perfumed with African-American history that is completely unique. It made for a wonderful experience! As though that weren't enough, we were privileged to be hosted by Monique herself, owner and founder of Akwaaba! She was a most gracious and elegant hostess...offering to run our baths by candle light and feeding us scrumptious home cooked breakfasts and afternoon refreshments that just to think about are making me hungry now! We had a wonderful time...to say the least! We enjoyed Peaches restaurant located conveniently at the end of the block as well! Overall 5 Stars***** in a comfortable cozy setting! Thank you Monique for opening your home to us!!! "The ManChild Family"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 MacDonough Street, Brooklyn, NY 11233
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Akwaaba, where we spoil you with old-fashioned graciousness and modern-day amenities. Check in to our 1860 Victorian Mansion and leave renewed and refreshed -- just 15 minutes away from Manhattan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Mansion Hotel Brooklyn
Akwaaba Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.