We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
347 MacDonough Street, Brooklyn, NY 11233   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My bf and I are really busy with work and school, so he surprised me with a "staycation" at Akwaaba, and I must say, I was very pleasantly surprised! The host was extremely welcoming, (sorry, I'm bad with names) she gave us a nice tour of the property and left her phone number with us in case we had any additional questions. She also took the time to sit with us and go over some of the restaurants in the area. We ended up going to the Italian restaurant around the corner for dinner, don't pay attention to the outside of the restaurant...its nice inside and the food is great! When we came back from dinner, they had the room set up with candles and a warm bubble bath! So Great! The next day, we had a great breakfast with their own Akwaaba tea (comes in different flavors), homemade waffles topped with fresh fruit, scrambled eggs with cheese, and turkey sausage (they do not serve pork or beef). I do love my bacon, but the breakfast was great nonetheless. I could go on and on, but the point is...You need to check this place out! Can't wait to go back in the summer :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    27
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
116
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We came up to Brooklyn from Florida to visit our son who lives in the neighborhood. What we came home with was new family from Akwaaba! We will definitely be returning. How could we not... with the ambiance, the relaxed home setting, cozy fireplace in the parlor, homemade cookies and lemonade iced tea, the down to earth people, and certainly the breakfasts! Oh, and the bubble bath jacuzzi in "Jumping The Broom"! :o

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

The accommodations were beautiful, the service was impeccable, the food was delicious...it was everything we had hoped for and more!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently enjoyed our third stay at Akwaaba, and the home away from home atmosphere keeps us coming back. The staff is always very accomodating of various check in times, and dietary restrictions, and they always welcome us as family every time we stay. We stayed in the "Jumping the Broom" suite this time, and between the beautiful stained glass and the great hot tub, it is by far our favorite room at the Akwaaba so far. The personal touches are beyond compare, and after three stays, we are still in awe at the fact that no matter what time we return in the evening, there is always a candlelit bath at the perfect temperature awaiting us :-). The neighborhood surrounding the Akwaaba is also surprisingly quiet, and full of hidden culinary delights. We definitely recommend Akwaaba if you are looking for a unique and relaxing stay in New York.

Room Tip: Our favorite room so far is the "Jumping the Broom" suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

I went to stay at the brooklyn location for diffrent occassions all in one but mainly my birthday myself n my husband and we just enjoyed every bit of it it was just so homey relaxin beautiful..just awsome..cant wait to go bac

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived I felt WELCOMED. The owner Monique greeted us at 8pm, well after check-in hours, graciously walked us through the mansion and recommended nearby restaurants for a bite to eat. If you're big on details and hospitaliy then Akwaaba is the place to stay when visiting NYC.The 19th century mansion is tastefully decorated and has the perfect ambiance for romance. Each guestroom is uniquely but equally inviting, the jacuzzi tub with its powerful jets being the focal point of all the rooms as I quickly learned at breakfast. The breakfast was delectable all three days and once again Monique and Ryan were very mindful of any dietarian restrictions or special requests per guests. Yes, this historic property is located in the heart of Bed-Stuy, but who knew this maybe the quietest block in Brooklyn. Perhaps the Episcopalian church across the street shares responsibilty, whatever the cause, the serenity was a pleasant surprise. The property is truly full of authenic old world character sprinked with modern day amenities.

Room Tip: "Black Memboralia" is very cozy with less windows and warmest in the winter "Ashante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Had a great time. Pleasant personnel. The food was excellent. Decor was great. I would pay Akwaaba a visit again very soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 MacDonough Street, Brooklyn, NY 11233
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Akwaaba, where we spoil you with old-fashioned graciousness and modern-day amenities. Check in to our 1860 Victorian Mansion and leave renewed and refreshed -- just 15 minutes away from Manhattan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Mansion Hotel Brooklyn
Akwaaba Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.