We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See a Show here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklyn Academy of Music

Brooklyn Academy of Music
30 Lafayette Ave., Brooklyn, NY 11217
718-636-4100
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #16 of 112 attractions in Brooklyn
Type: Theaters, Operas, Educational Sites, Performances, Ballets
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Founded in 1859, this performing arts center is the oldest institution of its type still in operation in the United States.
Radford, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“See a Show here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I performed in the Harvey Theatre @ BAM with the 2010 Next Wave Festival. Performing on that stage was a joy and i got to see how much the people who work there really care about those spaces and the production quality. I was so busy while we were there that i never got to see any of the other productions, but I can only imagine they were amazing. Go there, look at the spaces, take a tour if you can, listen to the history and please try to see a piece while there.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Kevin Spacey in Richard II”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The play was absolutely wonderful but the seats in the theater were not. While I did not have trouble, my husband and son are over six feet tall, and they said they were never go to another production at BAM because they were so uncomfortable they could not enjoy the play. This means I will have to go with my daughter from now on because I really enjoyed the play! We saw King Lear here as well with Derek Jacobi!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One Theater Great; One Not So Useful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Harvey Theater is fairly comfortable, with good sightlines. The deconstructed decor is fun. Excellent plays from England and elsewhere come there. There are often celebrities in the audience (they usually sit by the center aisle).

Interesting dance and opera companies come to the Opera House, but I avoid going there because there is almost no slant to the orchestra and the stage view is thus obstructed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“BEST THEATRE in ALL NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I love BAM. Over 100 years old and still kicking butt! Even if what you see here is not your cup of tea the production value is brilliant. Love love love.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“BAM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great place for all the musical performaces. I saw Alvin Ailey Dancers perform here. They were fantastic. Check out their schedule you will find something you like and enjoy it. Bravo!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Academy of Music also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Academy of Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklyn Academy of Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.