We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend your morning at the zoo..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prospect Park Zoo

Prospect Park Zoo
450 Flatbush Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11225
+1 718-399-7339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 115 Attractions in Brooklyn
Type: Zoos, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operated by the Wildlife Conservation Society, this zoo exhibits more than 400 animals including Sea Lions, Hamadryas baboons, Red Pandas, North American River Otters, Reptiles and Amphibians, Pallas Cats, Hornbills and more. Small cafe and gift shop, barnyard with sheep, goats, cows.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spend your morning at the zoo..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The thing I love most about the Prospect Park Zoo is that it isn't overwhelming and it's in the middle of Prospect Park which has lots of other attractions. Enjoy a stroll around the zoo, take a ride on the carousel and then enjoy your brown bag lunch in the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Brought back memories”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went to the zoo with my husband last sunday. It was nice but small. The thing we really enjoyed was going to the barn and petting and feeding the sheep,cow,llama and goats. I love the hands on experience.
The zoo is a wonderful place if you have children they would really enjoy, but if you are hungry make sure you bring food !!!!!!!! They DO NOT have food there other then candy and drink machines.
We waited around the sea lion pool at feeding time which is 2:00, it was interesting but all they had were 2 sea lions, my personal opinion is they need to get some larger animals. The price is cheap so its worth going for the day

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A lot of bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Agree with the recent reviews. Took a 4yo and 2yo. Both loved it. If it is not feeding time, you may overlook the "centerpiece" sea lions, which the other exhibits surround. It was a great diversion for when the fussies are beginning to set in. We missed feeding time, but my kids enjoyed just seeing them swim around in circles, periodically poking their heads out from the water. Also dont overlook the intereactive garden- in there awaits great cheesy photo-ops in which your child can "become" a turtle, ground hog, or milk a cow. They can make even the most zoo weary parent smile.
50 cents gets you a small childsize handful of food to feed turtles, ducks, goats etc.
Most exhibits are indoors with the exception of the barn, garden and sea lions. So I could see coming here on a cloudy/drizzly day/slightly cool day. Lots of shade, areas to rest and sit. Exhibits are close together- Making it a great place for grandparents, kids with short attention spans.

Small annoyances where the heavy and difficult to maneuver glass doors infront of each of the main exhibit entrances. It takes all of you strength to keep it open while you are pushing strollers through/escorting slow walking toddlers. One bathroom which is sizeable and has toddler sized sink- but is located near the entrance. It would be nice to have other opportunities scattered in the park- they are toddlers after all ;). No large animals but my young kids didnt even notice.

One tip : Bring your lunch and sit on the grassy lawn and enjoy a beautiful day in New York.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I know it's a small zoo but it's a fun place to go with kids!! They get amazed with the main show and with the variety of animals around the place

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Good Zoo for Small Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I visited this zoo, located in Prospect Park in Brooklyn, on a balmy summer weekday. It has no parking lot of its own---the only parking available is street parking along Flatbush Avenue South, so taking mass transit is advisable. The zoo is compact, and it contains no large mammals---no bears, lions, tigers, hippos, elephants, etc. But the exhibits it does contain are well designed, both indoors and out, and it is well worthwhile for a family or group of young children (under age 10, I'd say). You can see the entire zoo in a little more than one hour, though one can spend as much time as one wants in the petting/barn area. Because it is designed for young children, there is very little information (other than basic identification) about the animals in each enclosure. Refreshments are available from vending machines only, though there is a reasonably large, air-conditioned seating area to enjoy your snack or beverage. Recommended for young children only (and their parents/guardians or grandparents).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospect Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Prospect Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospect Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.