We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend your morning at the zoo..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prospect Park Zoo

Prospect Park Zoo
450 Flatbush Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11225
718-399-7339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 113 attractions in Brooklyn
Type: Zoos, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operated by the Wildlife Conservation Society, this zoo exhibits more than 400 animals including Sea Lions, Wallabies, Red Pandas, Snakes and Prairie Dogs.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spend your morning at the zoo..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The thing I love most about the Prospect Park Zoo is that it isn't overwhelming and it's in the middle of Prospect Park which has lots of other attractions. Enjoy a stroll around the zoo, take a ride on the carousel and then enjoy your brown bag lunch in the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Brought back memories”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went to the zoo with my husband last sunday. It was nice but small. The thing we really enjoyed was going to the barn and petting and feeding the sheep,cow,llama and goats. I love the hands on experience.
The zoo is a wonderful place if you have children they would really enjoy, but if you are hungry make sure you bring food !!!!!!!! They DO NOT have food there other then candy and drink machines.
We waited around the sea lion pool at feeding time which is 2:00, it was interesting but all they had were 2 sea lions, my personal opinion is they need to get some larger animals. The price is cheap so its worth going for the day

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A lot of bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Agree with the recent reviews. Took a 4yo and 2yo. Both loved it. If it is not feeding time, you may overlook the "centerpiece" sea lions, which the other exhibits surround. It was a great diversion for when the fussies are beginning to set in. We missed feeding time, but my kids enjoyed just seeing them swim around in circles, periodically poking their heads out from the water. Also dont overlook the intereactive garden- in there awaits great cheesy photo-ops in which your child can "become" a turtle, ground hog, or milk a cow. They can make even the most zoo weary parent smile.
50 cents gets you a small childsize handful of food to feed turtles, ducks, goats etc.
Most exhibits are indoors with the exception of the barn, garden and sea lions. So I could see coming here on a cloudy/drizzly day/slightly cool day. Lots of shade, areas to rest and sit. Exhibits are close together- Making it a great place for grandparents, kids with short attention spans.

Small annoyances where the heavy and difficult to maneuver glass doors infront of each of the main exhibit entrances. It takes all of you strength to keep it open while you are pushing strollers through/escorting slow walking toddlers. One bathroom which is sizeable and has toddler sized sink- but is located near the entrance. It would be nice to have other opportunities scattered in the park- they are toddlers after all ;). No large animals but my young kids didnt even notice.

One tip : Bring your lunch and sit on the grassy lawn and enjoy a beautiful day in New York.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I know it's a small zoo but it's a fun place to go with kids!! They get amazed with the main show and with the variety of animals around the place

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Good Zoo for Small Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I visited this zoo, located in Prospect Park in Brooklyn, on a balmy summer weekday. It has no parking lot of its own---the only parking available is street parking along Flatbush Avenue South, so taking mass transit is advisable. The zoo is compact, and it contains no large mammals---no bears, lions, tigers, hippos, elephants, etc. But the exhibits it does contain are well designed, both indoors and out, and it is well worthwhile for a family or group of young children (under age 10, I'd say). You can see the entire zoo in a little more than one hour, though one can spend as much time as one wants in the petting/barn area. Because it is designed for young children, there is very little information (other than basic identification) about the animals in each enclosure. Refreshments are available from vending machines only, though there is a reasonably large, air-conditioned seating area to enjoy your snack or beverage. Recommended for young children only (and their parents/guardians or grandparents).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospect Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Prospect Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospect Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Prospect Park Zoo to your Saves list