We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check to make sure it's all open” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklyn Historical Society

Brooklyn Historical Society
128 Pierrepont Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
718-222-4111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 114 attractions in Brooklyn
Type: History Museums, Educational Sites, Art Museums, Libraries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Combination museum, library and educational center explores works of art and historical documents that represent Brooklyn's diverse cultures and society, past and present.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Check to make sure it's all open”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we visited in September 2012, much of the museum was closed for renovation, which was very disappointing. The parts that were open were fascinating - a look back at a place that loomed large in the national consciousness. The video of clips of TV shows that were set in Brooklyn (Honeymooners, etc.) and references to Brooklyn brought back many memories. I was surprised that the staff didn't offer a discount, considering how much was closed, but I would go back sometime when it's all open.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great collection of the cities past... because it maintains people, not just the past...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

As a librarian with a history degree, I found this collection of collection incredible. It seems expensive o maintain, particularly the way hey run it, but it is worth it. It houses almost 450 years of our great citiy's history, as illustrated by the stories of NEW YORKERS.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a poor excuse of a museum, whose claim to fame is their historic building For $6 they have 3 little rooms and expect you to view old photos on a computer in the library but you must surrender your purse and any jacket to do so. After 5 min we asked for a refund. We enjoyed the free Brooklyn Naval Yard Museum much more and learned more history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great treasure in Brooklyn Heights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Beautiful Historic building in Brooklyn Heights with ground floor exhibit space is currently featuring an exhibit on Ebbitts Field and the Brooklyn Dodgers. It includes stadium seats, tickets, baseball cards and photos. Library and research area upstairs for the historians in the group. The surrounding area of Brooklyn is a treasure in itself,a stroll around the block is a fascinating mix of historic architectural styles in homes, shops and restaurants.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This museum, housed in a beautiful old mansion in a residential area just off the busy streets of commercial Brooklyn, is a lovely respite from the bustle of the city. Quiet, attractive, and filled with interesting memorabilia from Brooklyn's earliest days, the museum also contains a large library of reference materials. We enjoyed the special exhibit on the Brooklyn Dodgers, complete with seats from the original Ebbets Field. We also enjoyed a room about the history of Brooklyn that included audio information from Brooklynites to complement the visual exhibits.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklyn Historical Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brooklyn Historical Society to your Saves list