We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, inventive cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Vara

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Vara
268 Clinton St., Brooklyn, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 4,515 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“excellent, inventive cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

very pleasant atmosphere, friendly and helpful service.
small and medium-sized plates with outstanding flavor. limited liquor (gin, vodka, rum), excellent wine selection.
liked this so much, we went to their sister restaurant in manhattan (Txikito) the next day! Also very good experience there.
$128 for 2 people, with drinks and good tip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Everything we ate was delicious! We especially loved the fried and eggplant and the artichoke. We had some kind of sausage bread that was a special and it was delicious too. Worth the trip out to Brooklyn.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I went to La Vara because my daughter lives in Brooklyn we wanted a good restaurant close to her home, she suggested La Vara and we were extremely satisfied with the food and the service.. The food is presented nicely and a great wine list. Enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spanish-Mediterranean Tapas. Good Service. Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went to LaVara with my husband and another couple on a Thursday evening. We had no reservations but the wait was not long. We were thoroughly attended by the bartender while waiting. There is an interesting list of cocktails ($10+) (whiskey and vodka blends) and a nice selection of good wines ($9--$12/glass) and Jerez ($7-$12/glass). The restaurant is very small and quite loud but due to its size, the loudness is bearable. Although it is classified as a Spanish tapas place, we did not immediately identify it as such. Its Mediterranean inspired style, was evident both in décor, with Arabic-patterned walls; and in the menu, with the abundance of spices in every dish. The space lacked the traditional Spanish feel and kept a modern look. The service was welcoming and fast. The staff is cool and even hipster-ish. We ordered a bunch of plates to share. Plates are small-to medium size, as it is a tapas place, so you will probably not get away with ordering 2-3 appetizers and 2 main dishes for a group of 4. We ordered a: Stuffed rabbit loin ($18), which was not my favorite as it felt a bit too fatty for my taste and the prunes did not satisfy my taste buds, but my meat-loving friend appreciated this dish; The Crispy Eggplant ($8) was a delight; full of flavor and perfectly crisp; Citrus Cod ($14) melted in my mouth and pistachios and pomegranate was a nice touch. Some special plate of bread crumbs with cheese (sorry, did not stick to my memory) and also tried the daily croquettes. Now the “paella.” The Fideua ($16), a thin-noodle paella stuffed with small shrimp, clams, and squid was an interesting dish and we enjoyed it. Let me tell you that it is not a traditional paella, so if you feel like eating the real thing, LaVara is not the place for that. When it arrived at the table I was hesitant to try it. It included unusually thin, broken and well cooked, noodles and tiny pieces of seafood. It was also covered in creamy sauce. But to our surprise, it was one of the better dishes and had an interesting spin on conventional seafood paella. We also tried dessert and were not disappointed. Forgive me for not remembering the dessert names exactly but I am sure we had ice cream - I think it was a caramel/salty flavored ice-cream, which was delicious and also a fruit-type tart layered with thin cream. Overall, I recommend this place for a good mixture of tapas, dinks and wines but would not recommend it for authentic Spanish tapas.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconut grove
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding, original, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The food and the service like all of the places by these chefs was outstanding. We had all vegetable and fish dishes and they were original and exquisite. The artichokes are a must, the vegetable layers, the chickpeas and the fish were all excellent. 4 of us ate about 10 small plates (A LOT) and found the bill to be extremely reasonable. I highly recommend this place for dinner if you can get in. It is a bit loud but that can't be helped given the enthusiastic eating going on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vara also viewed

 
 

Been to La Vara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.