We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best rooftop bars in NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wythe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wythe Hotel
Save Saved
You added Wythe Hotel to your Saves list
80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best rooftop bars in NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nice cocktails, great people and a stunning view to Manhattan and Williamsburg. Even when crowded, mostly on Saturday nights, it is still pleasant to be on the roof. Laid back environment, as it should be; after all, this is the People's Republic of Brooklyn ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    69
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
37
90
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel has a very attentive front door staff. They need it because on a summer night the bar on the roof is very busy. There was a line about 30 people long when we arrived on a Thursday night. Guests don't have to wait in the line, but they do have to maneuver around it to be let in. It would be a good idea if the hotel would consider using another door as a guest entrance.

The noise from the hotel upstairs bar isn't disruptive, it's the dance club next door - Output. Output is the home of electronic dance music (or “EDM”) renaissance in Williamsburg. At night we were lulled to sleep by the constant beat of the EDM next door. Ear plugs helped. We stayed here five nights and heard this each night. It's not real loud, but it is there.

The restaurant on property (Reynard) is very good, has a decent wine list with interesting wines and a friendly, knowledgeable staff. We had a delicious late night dinner here and breakfast one morning. Both experiences were good.

In spite of the EDM beat into the late hours and the crowd out front at night, we didn't have a bad time here, but it certainly could have been better. Especially for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We arrived here and I thought, oh no another cool hotel all flash and no substance, at this stage I should share that I am over 60 and managed luxury hotels as my career. So the good, the rooms are minimalist but good high quality linens, guest supplies, mini bar ( which wasn't outrageously priced) and the staff were without exception well trained and courteous and good at what they do.
The restauranr, Renard is also competent with cleverly crafted plates and great wine selection. There is what is apparently one of the coolest roof bars in town, we were there, I felt old. So to the point if your over 50 you may well be more comfortable elsewhere, but this is a well managed, extremely competent COOL hotel, if your under 40 this is the place to be, great bars, cafés ,nightlife, if your over 40 you won't be sorry you stayed here

Room Tip: Upgrade to a king with manhattan views, higher floors are quieter, my kids rooms on 3and4were A lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Wythe to celebrate his birthday weekend. Prior to our trip, I coordinated our stay with Mary and Erin, who were both phenomenal. Upon our arrival, Mario was pleasantly surprised to find a birthday card on the nightstand which was such a nice touch. Though the nightly rate was slightly pricey, interior design of the building was beautiful, and the in- room surround sound speakers were great so we could listen to music while getting ready. We couldn’t say more about the location; the hotel is right across from the Brooklyn Brewery, within walking distance to top- notch restaurants and shops, and taxi cabs were readily available for trips into the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Loved this hotel! I had a manhattan view and it was probably one of the sexiest rooms I have ever stayed in. The views of NY are spectacular. The staff were helpful, the front desk staff really are excellent and went above and beyond. It's well located, only a few blocks from the subway. The bar is fun, great views of NY. I can't fault this hotel, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is hip and spacious, the rooms and mini bar are thoughtfully appointed. Although my "view" was the wall of the next building it was decorated with vintage signs painted on which is fine for me. It's in a great location for walking to the park as well as a myriad of restaurants and bars. The staff are straight Williamsburg/Brooklyn hip - I feel like it's a perfect film set if you want to capture that kind of vibe. Unlike other reviewers have mentioned I didn't encounter anyone rude, they were all cool and friendly people. They do offer tea, coffee and pastry as a room service option in the AM which was helpful.

HOWEVER - if you are a light sleeper you either need to bring some earplugs or find another place to stay. If you are over 5'8" you might want to book a room with a larger bed than the baby queen. There is no sound proofing in this place at all and you can hear everything going on around you - I guess that's the real flavor of NY. If you are here to play and don't mind a noise then this is definitely the place for you.

For the price I feel a small room service menu and better sound proofing would be within reason.

Room Tip: If you want *possibly* a quieter room, ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What this hotel has going for it is location, an excellent restaurant, a very busy bar, ok service, big windows, a good bed and linens, and a decent room for Brooklyn. But, do not expect to get any rest until midnight or one in the morning! The rooms and hotel are noisy!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wythe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wythe Hotel

Address: 80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wythe Hotel is a historically industrial building, from 1901, that has been converted into a 72-room hotel on the Williamsburg, Brooklynwaterfront. All of the inherent character of the building has beenpreserved-its exposed brick, arched windows, cast iron columns, andpine ceilings. The leftover ceiling pine has been re-used whereverpossible: in the beds, desks, minibars and restaurant floor. All foodand beverage, including a restaurant, rooftop bar, and private diningroom, will be operated by Andrew Tarlow, of Diner, Marlow & Sons, andRoman's. We are 5 minutes east of Union Square off the Bedford L stop. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wythe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.