We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but management thinks they're too cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wythe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wythe Hotel to your Saves list
Wythe Hotel
80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but management thinks they're too cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

For my wedding night, I chose this hotel particularly for its aesthetic. I wanted to spend the night before in a hotel near my venue, and I felt the Wythe would provide a perfect backdrop for my 'getting ready' pictures. The hotel is beautiful, and the rooms are spacious by NYC standards. I had a Brooklyn side king room - which was nice and quiet. My fiance had a Manhattan side queen room - which heard all of the street noise from the club across the way and the cabs honking all night. All in all between us and our families we occupied 7 rooms. 4 of which we booked for 2 nights. Despite this, management refused to allow our photographer to take photos of us in their lobby - which at 9am was not crowded or busy. I found this to be just plain stupid - even when I reminded the front desk that we were occupying 7 rooms - she said "they arent allowed." They also dont do room blocks or fixed rates for wedding parties unless you're getting married there. Other than that - the service was good. The rooms are clean, the minibar well stocked, the rooftop bar is great, and has amazing views (but it does get VERY crowded), the restaurant is good - we only had breakfast there - but the food was very good, even though the service was very slow. We were one of only 4 tables and it took about 30 minutes to get our order. In New York this is unheard of. They do bake in-house croissants that are delicious. They say they dont have room service, but you can order breakfast and have it brought up to your room... ??? so minimal room service? The doorman will get you a cab no problem and the location is walking distance to tons of great restaurants, lounges, etc.

Room Tip: to avoid street noise either get a high floor or ask for a room that doesnt overlook Wythe Ave or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    89
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
116
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Falls, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a nicely located hotel with a pleasant and friendly staff, attractive rooms, and a health-oriented continental breakfast in appealing surroundings. The immediate neighborhood isn't
exciting unless you're going to the Brooklyn Bowl for high-quality entertainment, as was true for us.
I especially liked the underground parking garage right next door, with very good rates for the NYC area. It's not far from Manhattan, but the real appeal is having something to do nearby. And you'll save a bundle when compared to Manhattan hotel prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Manhattan skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My hubby and I booked a room for 4 nights at this hotel. It was on the eighth floor overviewing Manhattan. No noise from the rooftop bar. No noise at all. Only this lovely view that makes you not wanna leave the room.

I loved the interior and carefully picked details. Huge comfy leather chair. Comfortable bed. Wallpaper designed especially for this hotel. Bathroom with a view. Local delicatessen on the table. Adorable shopping bag. Great soap, shampoo and towels.

Cool, kind and helpful staff at the reception. Goodlooking doorman. Great restaurant. Nice area (don't miss coffee at Toby's or Blue Bottle).

The only minus: the floor is made of concrete and very cold. They don't provide the slippers. Ouch. Bring some with you.

But then again, it was so difficult to leave this amazing room.

Room Tip: Either take a room with a terasse or the ones on the top floor facing Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff and view of Manhattan excellent. Doormen and front desk everything one could hope for.
Williamsburg is a happening area at night. Great restaurants and clubs within walking distance.
The bar & views from the Wythe rooftop ..one of the best !!

Limited "boutique" breakfast.. If more than 2 of you, just have coffee and the croissants, which
by the way the best I've had. There where five in our party plus 2 tables of 1. Almost an hour
from ordering to being served !!!!Had to flag waitress down for coffee re-fills !!!

Room Tip: any room facing Manhattan, though I'm sure the others are just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wythe Hotel

Overall I enjoyed our stay at the Wythe Hotel.
There is much that is right about the Wythe:

Location: in the heart of hip Williamsburg. Much delicious coffee to be had close by (for me, this is important. Try Toby’s on N 6th St and Blue Bottle Coffee on Berry).
Design: Industrial meets chic. It’s not that it has not been seen before, but the steel girders, exposed walls and distressed timber ceilings work exceptionally well. The detailed tile work in the Reynard restaurant is beautiful (and the fries are very good).
The room: we stayed in North 7th Loft. The view over Manhattan from the wraparound floor-to-ceiling windows is BREATH-TA-KING. The room was very spacious, very clean and well-equipped (overall). I loved the charming wallpaper and the lovely bathroom with comfortable bath, large basin and spacious shower.

What I liked less about the Wythe:

While the view is spectacular, it is very difficult to cover those windows at night. There are a series of blinds that you lower to cover the windows, but you are left with large gaps between the individual blinds, which let in a lot of light. If you like to sleep in a very dark room and don’t like to be woken by light shining on your face, this is a problem.
Really noisy air conditioner.
Service and amenities are really patchy:
We had no help with our bags on arrival (or departure), there is no room service and
no complimentary water in the room. I wasn’t a great fan of the Goldie’s bath products. The staff don't seem particularly interested in serving the guests.
Also, they weren’t able to provide us with an adapter because they had run out (it was suggested to us to go to the Duane Reade around the corner and buy one ourselves, which - given how much we were paying for the room - was ridiculous).
If they sort out their service problems the Wythe would be a great hotel. I would have given it 3 stars were it not for the amazing view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved this hotel. We were met with friendly greetings from outside the front door, to the desk, to the restaurant. It's a stunning building inside and out. Our room was spacious, sparsely but attractively appointed, spotless, with all the amenities you would expect from a far more expensive accommodation. The bed was very comfortable; the bathroom, so attractive and the shower, fabulous! If you've stayed in the metropolitan area, you know that this is rarely the case!

The rooftop bar affords spectacular views of Brooklyn and Manhattan, so it's understandable that it would be such a popular spot. We were the oldest people up there ... in fact, I think we could have been everyone's grandparents. Still, we managed to get waited on and find a space outside to enjoy the gorgeous evening

Breakfast at Reynard's was just delicious. Look forward to having dinner on our next visit.... which will probably be next 4th of July if, in fact, we can see the NYC fireworks from the rooftop.

On the street parking was easy to find.

This is a great neighborhood to explore. See it before it is completely gentrified.

Room Tip: 211 has no view but a great, private patio. You can get your fill of spectacular views from the 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Wythe rests within the shell of an old factory located in the Williamsburg Area of Brooklyn. It's interior is post industrial modern. Our spartan room had a concrete floor (Hard on the feet!) with no rug, etc. From our 5th floor room just below the roof top bar, our 15' high windows allowed us to thoroughly enjoy NYC's Fourth of July Hudson River fireworks!! Our room also featured a flat screen TV, FM/AM radio, mini fridge and a very nice walk-in shower that had a two-way mirror window through which the rest of the room could be observed. Unique!

We could hear the roof top bar just above us, but the noise wasn't enough to keep us from going to sleep...and we're fussy 67-year-olds! The bar was a great place for unobstructed views of the East River and Manhattan. On special nights, e.g., the Fourth of July, etc., one has to show a Wythe Hotel guest room key to gain admittance. Smart policy! Drinks seemed pricey ($6 for a bottle of Bud; $8 for a craft brew draft.). Limited Breakfast options in Reynard's, the hotel restaurant. Friendly helpful staff all around.

Brooklyn in general and Williamsburg in particular are experiencing a Renaissance. Yuppies are on the loose with nary a block devoid of construction equipment. The Wythe is located in an area that hasn't quite caught fire so right now there aren't many outside dining, drinking or retail options nearby. There is, however, Rosarito's Fish Shack, a short three block walk south on Wythe St. This place is not to be missed (Try the tilapia tacos!) and make sure you're there for the long Happy Hour (3-7PM) when margaritas, sangria and other adult beverages are available for $4 or less.

Finally, a word about getting back and forth between the Wythe and Manhattan: Getting to Manhattan was a piece of cake. Brooklyn's black meter less taxis look like limos, but really are taxis. $20 from the Wythe to Ground Zero, for example, in a spotless new SUV or full size sedan.

Getting back to the Wythe from Manhattan was another matter, however. It took two cabs, one police citation and $50 to accomplish this ostensibly-simple journey. Traveling the FDR Highway looking across the East River, we could see the Wythe. But once in Brooklyn do you think either taxi driver (We bailed on the first one rather than hang around while the NYPD wrote him up for a traffic infraction.) could find the Wythe...even with help from a GPS device? Hell no!

I'd had such a great time in NYC that day I actually found this episode amusing. My wife didn't, however, and was first into our rooms really cool shower.

Room Tip: 5th floor mandatory. Don't waste money on one of the rooms with pvt. exterior patios. View of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wythe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wythe Hotel

Address: 80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wythe Hotel is a historically industrial building, from 1901, that has been converted into a 72-room hotel on the Williamsburg, Brooklynwaterfront. All of the inherent character of the building has beenpreserved-its exposed brick, arched windows, cast iron columns, andpine ceilings. The leftover ceiling pine has been re-used whereverpossible: in the beds, desks, minibars and restaurant floor. All foodand beverage, including a restaurant, rooftop bar, and private diningroom, will be operated by Andrew Tarlow, of Diner, Marlow & Sons, andRoman's. We are 5 minutes east of Union Square off the Bedford L stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Wythe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wythe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.