We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Casual Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wythe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wythe Hotel
80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 hotels in Brooklyn
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the Casual Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I love the location in Williamsburg.. great views... nice amenities.... great restaurant.. roof top bar is one of my favorites in NY. The rooms have brick walls and concrete floors so a bit cold, but I like that.. beds are comfy.. bathrooms nice size..
The hotel is pretty new and the staff are nice but seem a bit unorganized or perhaps just untrained in exceptional service.
Last time we stayed, there was a fire alarm at three am with firetrucks and firemen and all the guests in our pajamas and winter coats. It was a false alarm but we were downstairs for 45 minutes or more. Would have been nice to offer everyone tea or hot chocolate or port....
Also, they deliver coffee to your room in the morning but no bread. We stopped by a bakery each day to buy croissants for the next morning's coffee
I would highly recommend it for couples and solo travelers. Not as much for families or business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    56
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
76
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Wythe twice so far and it's my favorite spot in Brooklyn. Staff is very friendly, the roof top bar is fantastic, and the mini bar has local chocolates, kombucha, and other fine choices. Rooms are simple, clean and not stuffy! Can't beat the convenience, as it is right next to the Brooklyn Brewery. Even when I have business in Manhattan, I will make the trip to Brooklyn to stay at the Wythe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The location is great, the hotel is great, clean and stylish. There should be free bikes for hotel quests to use like all other cool hotels have. Big plus for minibar and local products used in hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Wythe this past weekend for 3 full nights. We arrived around 11:30am and were able to check in after lunch around 1pm. We stayed in a Baby Queen room on the 3rd floor which was a great size for just the two of us. Loved the decor and our tiny view of Manhattan. Pictures on the website are just as you see at the hotel. We loved the hotel bar with amazing views. We had brunch Sunday morning at Reynard's which was excellent. The staff was amazing and incredibly helpful.

The location is great - right across the street from Brooklyn Bowl and Brooklyn Brewery. It is also a short 5-7 minute walk to the super fast L train on corner of Bedford and 7th.

Only negative was that the rooms could be noisy as is the case with all lofts. Thin walls and with a popular bar and restaurant - always lots of people. Bring earplugs or just stay up and enjoy everything the hotel offers! We can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: Get a Manhattan view room if you can. Floors 5-7 can be noisy during bar hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

For the price of a single room in a nice Manhattan hotel, you can rent the incredible top floor (8th) suites which have their own patio facing the city, or get a nice room for half the price. Everything about this hotel is terrific EXCEPT: no room service, because the chef says his food has to be eaten in the dining room! (they do allow doggie bags). Also, if you get a room near the 6th floor bar, it's not gonna quiet down till late; keep that in mind when you're making your reservation....

Room Tip: 8th floor lofts with patio Avoid 5-7th floors if you want to go to sleep before 1am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Checked into the Wythe on a friend's recommendation. Stayed in a historic king room, which was really pretty big, nice bathroom, clean, good TV and internet, everything you need. The real highlights are great service, amazing bar on the rooftop and a great restaurant on the ground floor. I stayed a week and loved the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel has a good vibe to it and the renovation and addition to the old building are great.

The room was very comfortable and the view of Manhattan was great. The furnishings, bathroom, concrete floors and brick walls have a very modern esthetic that is a change from corporate hotels.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful and we ate at Reynards one night and can only rave about the service and food.

One thing to know: we stayed on the fifth floor which is just below the bar. It was a bit noisy on a Friday night and only slightly less on Saturday. Overall, the view from the room during the day and evening trumped any concern on the noise at night, just be aware.

Overall, we wood happily return for another stay.

Room Tip: If noise from the bar will bother you, just ask for a quit room when you make reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wythe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wythe Hotel

Address: 80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 hotels in Brooklyn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wythe Hotel is a historically industrial building, from 1901, that has been converted into a 72-room hotel on the Williamsburg, Brooklynwaterfront. All of the inherent character of the building has beenpreserved-its exposed brick, arched windows, cast iron columns, andpine ceilings. The leftover ceiling pine has been re-used whereverpossible: in the beds, desks, minibars and restaurant floor. All foodand beverage, including a restaurant, rooftop bar, and private diningroom, will be operated by Andrew Tarlow, of Diner, Marlow & Sons, andRoman's. We are 5 minutes east of Union Square off the Bedford L stop. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wythe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wythe Hotel to your Saves list