We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wythe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wythe Hotel
80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
High Springs, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I checked in to the Wythe Hotel on Thursday evening and out on Monday afternoon. We were there to visit our kids and to spend time exploring Brooklyn and seeing the holiday sites in Manhattan. Our room on the 7th Floor at The Wythe was beautiful with a breathtaking view of Manhattan. The bed was incredibly comfortable and all of the room comforts were perfect. We had dinner in The Reynard Restaurant, late the first evening. The menu is eclectic and fun and our oyster and rabbit stews were delicious. We dined on delicious breakfasts there almost every morning including a swordfish bialy and ham, egg and cheddar croissants. The staff at both the hotel and the restaurant are friendly, helpful and just the right amount of chatty. We would highly recommend this hotel. Choose the Manhattan view for the best experience.

Room Tip: Request a view of Manhattan. It is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    60
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
83
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The most difficult part of our recent stay at the Wythe Hotel was learning how to spell and pronounce its name. After that, it was a remarkably relaxing and comfortable stay. Our rear corner third floor room looked out over commercial buildings and up to the Manhattan skyline. The almost floor to ceiling industrial, architecturally appropriate, retrofit windows (which could be covered by roll-down scrim-like screen material, full shades or both) could actually be opened...for me, a real treat. And, in spite of the Wythe's location in a built-up (not recently!) neighborhood, there was little noise and no residential or office space looking in. The only distraction was the occasional noise from a moving chair on the concrete floor above. Other than the bedding, there was no softening of the space by drapery or carpeting...and it wasn't missed. The clean space was warmed by the wooden planked ceiling and wonderful radiant heat from the sealed concrete floor. It was actually cozy! The bathroom was equally well-designed and somewhat funky. No tub, but an open shower with a solid floor to ceiling glass wall and a drain well-positioned in the center of a geometric tile design. All that was missing in the room was a proper bar of soap (can't stand the squirt bottles for anything other than shampoo) and more commodious drawers for clothing (but, as a long-term stay at the Wythe is unlikely, the clothing storage is less important). Overall, the room offered all the comfort one would want...and more!
We were in Brooklyn to see the Stones at the new Barclays Center and had intended to spend most of our time on the long weekend in Manhattan, but the location of the Wythe and the treats that are nearby in Willamsburg kept our interest and attention and we never left Brooklyn. The safe and pedestrian-friendly neighborhood is full of treats, from hole-in-the-wall restaurants to funky retail stores. However, a short ride gets you to Atlantic Avenue which has everything for everyone (almost better thn Warren Street in Hudson!).
Unexpected treats were being able to dine at a superb restaurant, Reynard, on the Hotel's first floor or having a late night cocktail on the sixth floor looking out at glimmering Manhattan.
When I collect enough adjectives, I'll review Reynard.
Lastly, although at first turned off by the lack of valet parking, it was remarkably easy to park nearby on the street...and no meters...no "resident-only" zones, and no tickets!
To sum it up, the Wythe was a perfect getaway joint in a neighborhood loaded with discoveries. Get there before it gets yuppified!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed two nights during the most recent snowstorm and it couldn't have been nicer. We visit our daughter's family in Greenpoint and after trying other Brooklyn hotels this is our favorite. The rooms are big with 14 ft ceilings and incorporate the structural features of the old factory beautifully. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms huge, the furniture new retro and everything worked in the room. The restaurant is excellent and boho trendy. Be sure to reserve if you come on a weekend since it is very popular.

One of the best parts is the staff - young and sincerely nice. They fit perfectly with the friendly hipster crowd that frequents the place and are nice to the parents of same. After an arduous driving trip through the snow our server in the restaurant made sure we got our cocktails gratis. The desk team was very helpful with stores and services we needed to find in the neighborhood. There are plenty of good restaurants, bars and coffee shops nearby.

As for drawbacks, there are few. Parking is three blocks away and not much fun in a snowstorm. But the cost is reasonable for NYC. You can also park on the street if you follow the parking signs. Across the street there is a large club that incorporates a bowling alley and has live bands. The rooms are so quiet that you don't hear much of anything from the club. We were on the second floor facing the club and it was fine; however, we were there during the week and it might be worse on the weekend. There is no traffic noise to contend with. I did wish they had a down pillow but the pillows were fine.

Over all we loved the place. For oldsters we felt in touch with the hip and cool but never out of place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very successful recasting of an industrial space into cool establishment with hotel, 6th floor bar and terrace view of Manhattan to keel over for, downstairs bar and wonderful restaurant with truly innovative and clever food, all with a most delicate wood oven aroma lightly permeating even the hallways of the boutique hotel rooms. Wonderful beds. Queen rooms superb, with dreamy spacious bathrooms and one-way mirrors assuring privacy and natural light. King rooms (I had a corner at the O level for HOTEL neon sign on the 4th floor) spacious, great air control, quiet, all brick walls, rustic electricity fittings, most original minibar selections. We were several guests attending an event; the cocktail party organised for us in the Loft space was brilliant. Private party, security, full bar and relaxed but efficient service. Reception staff amazing. Check out that HOTEL sign in the daylight, not your normal red neon!!!! An interesting Destination -- diners and partyers looking Brooklyn to Manhattan cool, wonderful vibe.....yet rooms were quiet and comfy. Pity so many hotel rooms' showers ask us to get under the shower head before being able to turn the water on, a tiny design flaw against so many pluses. The hotel graciously liberated some of our rooms a night early, with unplanned late check-out, so we could flee Sandy on Sunday early evening, 28 October 2012. Ça vault Le detour! Thank you all the staff and stunning Anna for a marvellous experience.

Room Tip: The staff will help you select. King corner rooms most spacious. Quiet. Queen rooms smaller but c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Caifornia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Wythe Hotel is a welcome newcomer to Williamsburg. The hotel was designed to incorporate elements of the Soho and Tribeca hotel motif, while still managing to remain true to Williamsburg's history and style.

The Wythe finds itself on the Williamsburg frontier. The hotel is surrounded by warehouses, empty lots and reminders of how recently the hipsters have slowly reclaimed this section of "New Brooklyn". The Wythe has brought style, culinary sophistication, and excitement borrowed from lower Manhattan's more trendy neighborhoods of the nineties, i.e, Meatpacking, Tribeca and even a dash of DUMBO just down the East River in Brooklyn.

The hotel converted an actual warehouse into an urban retreat with a clever renovation that incorporates the integrity of the classic original building, itself. There's an exciting rooftop bar replete with spectacular views of Manhattan's skyline, and a dining room that serves as a breakfast/cafe with all the coffee snobbery a Williamsburg hipster could wish for.

The staff are young, hip, attentive and earnest in living up to the expectations of new guests experiencing Williamsburg for the first time. The hotel is two blocks away from Bedford Avenue, the "main street" of this urban frontier. However, there is an obvious distinction (conflict) between the pioneers that settled this neighborhood in the last 15 years and the new corporate/speculator types looking to exploit the growing interest. Small shopkeepers and restaurant owners cast a wary eye at the new high-rises, a planned Whole Foods, and other signs of crowding-out.

Old and new! And The Wythe Hotel might just be the link between both. There are growing pains, of course. For example, noise surrounding the hotel is created by renovations, nightclubs and (in summer) gatherings of out-of-towners overflowing from the clubs at all hours, some just across the street from the hotel. The music from The Wythe's own roof-top bar is an issue for guest rooms near by. Suggestion: stay two floors away from the sixth floor. Ideal room with a great Manhattan view and low street noise? The eighth floor facing Manhattan, away from the hotel's street entrance.

In summary, the Wythe is clearly the top hotel in Williamsburg at the moment for location, design, technology, views and menu. Keep in mind that you will be in the heart of this dynamic new neighborhood. Any drawbacks are dwarfed by a sense of discovery as you witness the early stages of the next great urban oasis.

Room Tip: Eighth floor, Manhattan side away from the main entrance. 802?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A new landmark on the face of Brooklyn, the Wythe is a contemporary hotel with big claims and views to match - if you book a Manhattan view room.

However, there are a few gaps which suggest that it's not quite there yet, and definitely not for everyone.

The popular roof bar offers great views, and attracts the party-minded locals. As a result, expect loud music to be heard in many rooms until after 2am. The typical luxuries you might expect of a hotel of this quality, such as robes, room service, or in room entertainment like pay-per-view or DVD hire, are not available here.

The much touted "famous restaurant" offers a very limited menu in keeping with the very eclectic mini bar selection. Fortunately, if there's one area in which Williamsburg isn't found wanting, its eateries. There is an embarrassment of great breakfast selections outside, even if there isn't much of one inside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

As other reviews have stated if you like noise this is the place for you! there is no name on the outside of the hotel-it just says "hotel". In fact our room (207)was right over the front door with the big "L" in hotel outside of our window. If you want a little quiet, pick a room on the river side of the hotel on the 3rd or 4th floor. The 6th floor has a bar (THE IDES) and a huge rooftop deck that makes a loud bass boom from 5PM until it closes. Also the properties across the street in both directions go all night with their competing noise. The closet in the room needs a light in it since all the lights in the room make it great for cats. Bathroom amenities are in pump bottles that you and every other previous guest has used. But you can buy them if you wish at $27 each for 12 oz of each bottle. The queen bed in this room was great and there is a safe and mini-fridge in the room. However it would be nice if the room was made up before 5:30 PM when we left a sign on the room to make it up when we left at 9AM (they say they clean the rooms up until 6PM) . On a positive side there is great food in the REYNARD RESTAURANT on the ground floor and the IDES bar and roofdeck has great views of Manhattan and Brooklyn. The hotel has great air conditioning/heat in the room and the high old wood beam ceilings are impressive.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the river side on 3rd or 4th floor to avoid the noise until 2AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wythe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wythe Hotel

Address: 80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wythe Hotel is a historically industrial building, from 1901, that has been converted into a 72-room hotel on the Williamsburg, Brooklynwaterfront. All of the inherent character of the building has beenpreserved-its exposed brick, arched windows, cast iron columns, andpine ceilings. The leftover ceiling pine has been re-used whereverpossible: in the beds, desks, minibars and restaurant floor. All foodand beverage, including a restaurant, rooftop bar, and private diningroom, will be operated by Andrew Tarlow, of Diner, Marlow & Sons, andRoman's. We are 5 minutes east of Union Square off the Bedford L stop. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wythe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wythe Hotel to your Saves list