We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cool hotel in brooklyn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wythe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wythe Hotel
Save
You added Wythe Hotel to your Saves list
80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Notting Hill, London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A very cool hotel in brooklyn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I am very close to rating this with 5 points instead of four. The only reason why I don't is that service isn't up to standards with a four season hotel or the likes.

Located in an old brownstone building two blocks from the centre of williamsburg. Walking distance to The very hip restaurants in the area and a 5-10 minutes to bedford ave subway station, which goes all the way to 8th ave in manhatten in less than 10 minutes (approx 5 stops).

The reception area is very nicely done, with clean lines, but stylish materials and artwork. There is a restaurant on the ground level, which looks like a french bistro. And there is a beautiful cool bar at the roof with a fantatic view of manhatten.

I stayed in a queen room 314 which (especially compared to room sizes in manhatten) appeared massive. The rate was $189 and I thought for new york standards it was a bargain. The bed was very comfy, it had all amenities you need, a good sound system to plug your ipad in, concrete floors and a beautiful wooden beamed ceiling. There wasn't much of a view, but the graffitied wall opposite gave a feel of brooklyn.

The service tried to be friendly and helpful. They are all quite young, so this wasn't five star service, but I couldn't complain either. The only real problem was their taxi situation. They are taxis parked outside, but they don't give proper instructions on which car to take, so I nearly ended up getting into some tough lookIng hispano's vehicle that wasn't even a taxi. A slighlty scary situation for a woman travelling by her own.

All in all I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is younger than fifty and design orientated. I would still prefer to stay in manhatten for most of my time in new york, but would add one or two nights to experience brooklyn in style if you have time. But if you like lots of space on a lowish budget, then you could even use this as an alternative base to a hotel in manhatten. You definately get better value for money here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    77
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
38
99
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I read about the Wythe back in March In the NYTimes and had wanted to try it out because of its uniqueness. We were not disappointed with the industrial building extreme makeover. I loved the new vs. the old in the room, restaurant, and lobby. I thoroughly enjoyed the polished concrete, bed looking up at the exposed timbers, and the very modern bath and exposed showerw. We spent three nights and easily walked to the Bedford Ave Metro in 15-20 min (depending on how many times we stopped to look at the other shops along the way) to connect to Manhattan. We returned around 11pm and never worried about walking back to the hotel(we are an older athletic couple). We ventured out for breakfast everyday to one on the local restauants and wasn't disappointed with the value, taste and flair. I was disappointed we couldn't get a tour of the Brooklyn Brewery across the street because it books up in advance(book 3-4 wks advance). Like others had commented about, the service was not the best, but I'm sure will improve in time with proper training and staffing. Loved the restaurant and enjoyed watching the chefs prepare our delicious, local fare dinner. I would recommend this for those who want to visit NYC/Manhattan but see a hipper side of the city in Brooklyn/Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors away from the street noise and restaurant. The western side has Manhattan v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was at the Wythe for one night with two other people. Upon arrival, Mary, who was very friendly and helpful, checked us in. We wandered around Williamsburg for a while, and came back later in the evening and went to the bar for a nightcap. We tried to order decaf coffee, but they had none. Then we asked for regular, but all they had was espresso. I then asked about Bailey's, and their full bar did not have it.

After that, we went to the desk to ask for a rollaway bed or cot. There was a change in plans and three of us were going to stay in our queen room. They didn't have any cots, which was ok, because it was last minute. So instead, we asked for extra blankets and pillows for the floor. They said sure and that they'd send them up. We waited upstairs for close to 20 minutes and no one came. We then called downstairs to ask again. Again, they said "sure!" No one came.

The hotel really is beautiful, but the service was very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Pros:
Hip and hip and rooms are funky with heated polished concrete floors, cool windows, bathrooms you name it. Location in Brooklyn is great, probably the most impressive thing given the vast array of restaurants, coffee shops, bowling parlors/live music venue across the road. It's central yet quiet too which really hits you when you arrive in Manhattan. Safe at night as evidenced by our late night post drinking expeditions.

The rooftop bar offers amazing views, has a cool but unpretentious crowd, good bar and good drinks. There's a gym in the basement that is sufficiently equipped. One of the best things about this hotel is that everything is new, but fitted with retro fixtures so it feels very vintage and cultured.

The only things I could point out for improvement are we found the front desk/concierge quiet undermanned at key busy times. You probably don't want to stay here if you go to bed before 2am, the noise is quiet loud from the 6th floor bar (we were on the 5th) but were at the bar until close. Apart from that, would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

After a week in Manhattan, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Brooklyn. The Wythe Hotel was definitely one of the reasons. The room was lovely and we didn't have any problems with noise like people have been saying. The location was great as we were able to walk everywhere in Williamsburg. The rooftop bar was awesome. Bit busy but as guests, we didn't have to queue.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Not only was this a well appointed, well serviced and scrupulously clean hotel it also provided an ambiance that was uniquely Brooklyn. The Brooklyn feeling is achieved through the building which is a refurbished warehouse (originally part of the iconic Brooklyn Brewery complex) and the use minimalist furniture that has a practical industrial feel to it.

We were fortunate to be allocated accommodation on the western side of the building. These rooms have great atmosphere achieved largely by the two architectural features of origan pine planked ceilings and a full west facing glass wall which provide a perfect panorama of Manhattan Island. This vantage point is immediately adjacent to the Chrysler and Empire Estate buildings.

The Wythe boasts a fantastic rooftop bar with indoor and outdoor setting which again exploits the commanding view described above. Conflicting arrangements unfortunately prevented our intention to have breakfast at the hotel’s café restaurant. It smelt and looked great and has the perfect aspect to capture the morning light.

The hotel is in the heart of the village of Williamsburg and is located two blocks from the trendy retail precinct of Bedford St. We regularly walked the two blocks to Bedford St and right along Bedford for four blocks to the Bedford Street subway station – one stop from Manhattan Island – so convenient!

The greatest accolade, however, goes to the Management and staff. We were introduced to the hotel after arriving in New York and finding the West Village apartment we had booked had been cancelled. We hail from Perth, Western Australia (the world’s most isolated capital city). Therefore arriving in New York without accommodation was our worst nightmare. Our circumstance was given absolute empathy. We were most appreciative of the support given to us in undertaking the logistics necessary to give us six nights accommodation in this heavily booked hotel. Thanks, it will always be appreciated!

Room Tip: It is worth getting a room on the fourth floor and above to get the view thatis on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I normally stay on Manhattan, but got recommended this brand new hotel from a friend who lives nearby in booming Brooklyn / Williamsburg - so I gave it a shot. In proved to be a bull´s eye in terms of standard, concept, location, view and value for money. It is a boutique style hotel, an old warehouse that has been totally refurbished in modern loft style. I got a room in the 8th floor with amazing view of the Manhattan skyline, and the rooftop bar at 6th floor is as cool as you want. Had both breakfast and dinner at the restaurant, which both were really good. Service was as expected, polite and good, and the room had everything I wanted and more. From now on, when flying in/out of JFK, I´ll definitely choose the Wythe Hotel in front of a tiny, overprized room at worn-out Manhattan hotel. It´s just a 5 min walk to the train, and from there it is another 3 mins ride to Manhattan. There are tons of really good restaurants and bars just a few blocks away. Another huge benefit I noticed from staying at Wythe, is the lack of sirens and noice that you will find at Manhattan.

Room Tip: Go for the Manhattan King, ask for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wythe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wythe Hotel

Address: 80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wythe Hotel is a historically industrial building, from 1901, that has been converted into a 72-room hotel on the Williamsburg, Brooklynwaterfront. All of the inherent character of the building has beenpreserved-its exposed brick, arched windows, cast iron columns, andpine ceilings. The leftover ceiling pine has been re-used whereverpossible: in the beds, desks, minibars and restaurant floor. All foodand beverage, including a restaurant, rooftop bar, and private diningroom, will be operated by Andrew Tarlow, of Diner, Marlow & Sons, andRoman's. We are 5 minutes east of Union Square off the Bedford L stop. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wythe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.