We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable pop-in spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peaches

Peaches
393 Lewis Ave., Brooklyn, NY 11233
(718) 942-4162
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 4,411 restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable pop-in spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If it's midweek, you're looking for a nearby spot to pop in and have a great conversation with friends while sipping on GREAT cocktails and munching on delish appetizers, then this is your spot. It's enough to like a lot but not enough to absolutely LOVE. For me, the lounge bar side of Peaches is more enjoyable and satisfying that the restaurant. It's unpretentious and homey but it does enough to make you get dressed up for. It is what it is, nothing more, nothing less. It's just nice!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    26
    16
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved peaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Excellent, amazing, tasty food, wonderful atmosphere, friendly helpful staff and delicious cocktails. This place was a delight, we visited twice during our 11 day stay in New York. The waitress remembered us on our second visit and we were made to feel very welcome. The ribs were so tender as were the steaks in fact everything we ordered was wonderful. Brilliant place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Peaches, etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Not only Peaches BBQ food restaurant, but cosy little bar next door, and delightful coffee sandwich cafe called The Pantry, beside to make the full set. Friendly staff, cosy environment, reasonable prices good food and well mixed drinks. All the ingredients to make this a worthwhile excursion. If we lived here, these would be our locals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were doing a walking tour of Bedford-Stuyvesant and stumbled upon Peaches just at the point our feet were sore and our stomachs were growling. We first noticed that it was a very cozy and attractive place and then received a very warm greeting. The service was very attentive and helpful. It was lunch-time and the soup special was a salmon chowder that was rich, creamy, and delicious. We also shared some sides which were great as was the corn bread. This was one of the best meals we had during our week in New York. It reflects how the Bed-Stuy neighborhood has come back from the ravages of the '70's and '80s. Take the subway out to Peaches and wander around the hood as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Little Gem in Brooklyn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely loved the food at Peaches! Got there before the crowd on a Friday night and had a terrific dinner. The place was SRO waiting to get a table before we left. I had the Flounder which was pan-fried in cornmeal perfectly. The Fish Chowder is the best I've ever had! The homemade Apple Pie for dessert is amazing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peaches also viewed

 

Been to Peaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.