We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Box House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Box House Hotel to your Saves list
The Box House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Box House Hotel for 5 nights during a Checker Taxi Convention. This is an absolutely wonderful hotel . From the minute we walked in the friendly staff was exceptional. We got a chance to meet the owner Joe and saw the pride he has in his hotel. The rooms were spotless with hardwood floors, high ceilings, and kitchen with all utensils. They also have these fabulous Checker Taxis that will take you to local spots, what a treat for someone who has not ridden in one before. This is a must hotel for anyone coming to NYC. Just down the street I noticed that there were movie studios, one of our days here the next street over was blocked off for filming something for Comedy Central. Pretty Cool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but there are rooms with patios and also rooms with small outdoor seating wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    77
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
149
86
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Box House Hotel for 5 nights in May. Staying there made me want to go back to NYC as soon as possible. The hotel is decorated with an abundance of artwork by Kip Jacobs and is immaculate.

Our accommodation was a deluxe loft suite with a patio. The kitchen was well furnished; there was a nice sitting area with TV and a comfy bed up in the loft. The desk staff was so helpful and the courtesy rides in Greenpoint and across the bridge to the 7 train made it so accessible to Manhattan. The fitness center was small but very adequate. Even if my daughter moves away from Greenpoint, I would stay here.

The Box House Hotel is truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a fab hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful. Location is no issue at all - 8 min walk to subway one stop into manhattan. Free taxi rides in local area with a couple of really good guys doing the driving. Room was cleaned and fresh towels given everyday which we were surprised and pleased by. Seriously enjoyed our stay for 7 nights and would definitely stay here again - couldn't fault it.

Milk & Roses round the corner perfect for breakfast and plenty of deli stores to pick up bits and pieces for nibbles in your fully operational kitchen.

Can't recommend highly enough - would definitely tell anyone going to new york to stay here - love love love!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is very comfortable with interesting furnishings, but the staff really impressed us with their outstanding service. There was a little confusion when we checked in, and everyone there went out of their way to ensure that the problem the confusion was quickly resolved so that my family and I were comfortable. I cannot thank the staff enough for their attention to us - they had a very personal touch that made our stay great.

The hotel itself is furnished in an interesting and unique style, and the rooms are far more comfortable than a standard hotel. While the neighborhood can best be described as "quiet," there are a few bars and restaurants within walking distance, and the nearest subway is only one stop from Grand Central.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

fantastic hotel with great staff in a very good location, away from the hustle and bustle of manhattan, you must try the mexican diner around the corner acapaulcos; the burritos are fantastic..its in greenpoint which is an up and coming location and its a short hop by subway into the city itself

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place took us completely by surprise! Have you ever looked at photos on the net of a Motel you have booked and then when you checked in realised that they were so untrue? Well this IS SO NOT the case with The Box House Hotel. The photos of the interior of this hotel were quirky, trendy and attractive, when I booked the place thru 'Wotif.com' and guess what! In real life, this Hotel was even BETTER!
Outside is industrial and ordinary but once inside, The Box House Hotel becomes a haven of comfort, privacy and pure Hipsterness!
Where to start.....well the ceilings are very very high giving the rooms a 'loft' feel about them. They even still have exposed pipes which are now painted a funky bright fire engine red colour.
Everything inside is modern without losing any nostalgia for what this warehousey type building use to be.
All wall art and table decorations have been carefully selected to give a great contemporary edge to this funky apartment.
The hallway outside has at almost every front door, a narrow table which holds a
piece of art in the form of a sculpture captured underneath a glass dome resembling a cheese dome.
Free wifi is a welcome bonus and friendly staff. This place is truly a hidden gem. If we hadn't found it on Wotif, we never would have. Two gorgeous retro taxis remain permanently parked out the front and two train stations are within close walking distance. Also close by are a number of restaurants, bars and cafés. And for breakfast, if you walk over the Pulaski Bridge you will discover Brickston Bagel shop, a popular place for Bagels. Although the food is delicious, the staff are a little bit miserable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our first trip to Brooklyn, and research pre booking suggested The Box House as a good choice, so we booked up. We have no regrets. It's a beautiful place, aesthetically pleasing, spotlessly clean, great desk staff, and the shuttle service is very handy, too. We had a standard suite and it was gorgeous, so much space, with everything we needed. Greenpoint itself was great, some lovely places to eat right there (Coffee Friends, Eagle Trading, The Karcsma, Ovenly, Milk & Roses, Paulie Gees - all well priced and delicious), Williamsburg a short ride away but easily walkable, and the chaos of Manhattan just a few subway stops away.

Greenpoint is an area that will undoubtedly change in the next few years, and become probably an extension of Williamsburg. The Box House deserve the custom that this growth will bring. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Box House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Box House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.