We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you need big spaces” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Box House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Box House Hotel to your Saves list
The Box House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect if you need big spaces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Staff very friendly. Rooms carefully fornished. Very good position if you want to visit Manhattan easily. With a short minute walk you can get at the first tube station that in two stops will take you to Grand Central.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    82
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
155
90
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Have just returned from 6 nights stay at the Box House Hotel - what a find! All the reviews that I read beforehand were so true. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were 5 in the room and the room was spacious with a fully fitted kitchen and everything that you could need. The room was immaculate and beautifully and artistically decorated. Easy access to Manhattan via the 7 line - 2 stops to Time Square and Williamsburg/Brooklyn are great areas to wander around. Good places to eat and even ordered 2 takeaways that were delivered to the door - so easy!
We liked living amongst the real people of New York rather than Manhattan. Great taxi service that was free and so many recommendations from the staff for us to do everyday. Cant say enough about the whole experience.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant but that was no problem at all. We had 5 in our room and felt fine. Rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Rooms are spacious and clean. The decor is original and whimsical. The kitchen was well equipped and they provided all the extra touches ( complementary tea bags, coffee, and a bar of chocolate, etc.)
The staff are very helpful, we appreciated the complementary taxi service to nearby locations. It's a very convenient location if you'd like to visit Brooklyn or even to go into Manhattan, etc. We would heartily recommend staying here; it's a lovely hotel
If you're not familiar with the neighborhood, be aware that it's a bit dodgy, but we felt relatively safe. You'll find a mix of interesting restaurants and bars mixed in with seedy looking establishments.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Box House is such a cool warehouse-type building located at the northern tip of Greenpoint. It's within walking distance of Williamsburg and the G Train. Now, if you want a place on a fancy street, this isn't it - but hey, it's Brooklyn. The hotel itself is very well maintained and lovely. The hotel room was really a modern apartment with a full kitchen and two flat screens. Our room had no windows, but 3 huge skylights and was VERY quiet. The bed was a bit on the firm side for my taste, but the quality was fine. Feather pillows are furnished but they have regular pillows if you ask. The other bed was a really nice fold-out couch that was quite comfortable. The room and common areas were extremely clean and all of the staff were simply amazing, especially Joshua; they were genuinely friendly, caring, accommodating and helpful! Loved it.

Room Tip: Hotel is beside the Pulanski Bridge (which is pedestrian/bike friendly with a nice Manhattan view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We do a lot of research before booking a hotel for our family of four. Thankfully the reviews and photos for the Box House were very accurate and this hotel is as good as other guests have described. Firstly the building inside and out is immaculate, and very funky. Rooms are spacious, clean, superbly decorated and well kitted out. We ate in the room sometimes and there is a good kitchen for preparation of light meals. Location is not a problem with subway handy and the guys ready to drop you off locally - although the walks to the 7 train (10mins) and G train (20 mins) are okay as well and get you out exploring the non-touristy bits. Staff are the best we have met and every query was dealt with efficiently from advice to airport transfers. This location is an excellent base for exploring Manhattan, Brooklyn and beyond. It is also a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan coming back to this quiet spot. Highly recommended and we will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for four nights as a family. Fantastic hotel with a cool vibe and great welcoming atmosphere. The apartment had everything you would need and the laundry room was great. It was nice to not be right smack bang in the middle of the city and the local neighbourhood had a real community vibe. The Greenpoint station was the easiest subway to use. Acapulco mexican, just a couple of blocks away, was great. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the Box House Hotel for five nights last week and were really impressed! Even though the hotel is in Brooklyn, it's only one subway stop to Grand Central Station so getting around is not a problem at all. There are a couple of subway stations within walking distance of the hotel which is very convenient. It was actually refreshing to stay somewhere not quite so busy and hectic as Manhattan! The hotel itself is extremely modern and everything in the room was clean and of a very high quality. We were travelling with our two children (aged 11 & 14) and we had a loft apartment with a QS bed upstairs and then a sofa bed and rollaway bed downstairs for the boys. It was a little bit squashy but we folded the sofa bed away every day to give us more space and somewhere to sit and it was fine. The apartment also had a full kitchen which was great as we were able to cook our own meals some of the time which helped to save money. The staff were absolutely fantastic and were able to help us with everything we asked of them, and the free "taxi" service to local places was awesome. We loved the whole experience and would thoroughly recommend this place to our friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Box House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Box House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.