We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we've stayed at, will definitly go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Box House Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Box House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we've stayed at, will definitly go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ok let me get the first slight negative issue out the way first. The nearest Metro station is about a ten minute walk away.

Let me start with the staff. They are amazing, friendly and courteous. Always smiling and happy to help. The lobby is modern and inviting.

The rooms are lovely. Its the first time I've been to a hotel where the pictures on the website don't look AS GOOD as the rooms themselves. Its hard to see the size of the room from their photos, it is so bright and big and airy.

The bed is one of the best I've slept in. Another thing, you know how hotel towels and sheets always smell like burnt cake? (well that's what I feel)... At the box, they smelled fresh, like REAL fabric conditioner, -lavender ish! ... The room was really clean, with a sofa and two flatscreen HD TV's with REAL cable TV, with most the decent channels you would need from HBO to NBC etc...

The kitchen has all that you would need for doing your own cooking although we didn't cook much ourselves! They provide the usual amenities of coffee/tea too.

The bathroom was clean and the shower was lovely too. And the towels smelled good!! Ok yeah I already said that but I still think that's great :P

We will definitely stay here again if we are in NYC. Thanks Box House for making our NYC trip comfortable and a real treat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    60
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
129
68
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is my first bad review on anything... ever.
The room is clean and larger than many city hotels. HOWEVER, the "internet price" we got translated into a "construction price" as they put us right next to early morning drilling and clanking. Traveling from the west coast AND on business AND taking a red eye meant we arrived at 6am, jet leagged, and needing sleep for a business event later that evening. They couldn't accommodate an "early check in" so we paid a full extra night just to be able to sleep. Cue the drill and hammer 2 hours later. The hotel was "booked" and couldn't move us until the last night of our stay. They should have refunded us the extra night we paid OR at the very least, told us about the construction first and let us make the decision to stay or not.
I'll never stay here again regardless of room size, or perks like a free cab.

Room Tip: Ask if there's construction going on BEFORE you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Box House Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Alyssa,

We deeply regret to hear about the negative experience you had on your recent stay with us. We would like to reassure you and the TripAdvisor community that the rate you received was not in fact a “construction rate” but was our standard rate, which we were offering at that time. Secondly, we sincerely apologize that you were affected by noise during your stay. It is never our intention to disturb any of our guests as we pride ourselves on creating a peaceful atmosphere at The Box House Hotel. We have a strict noise policy and pride ourselves on this standard. However, unforeseen instances do occur and we hope you acknowledge we did try to rectify the situation by upgrading you during your stay with us. We are proud to be one of the most affordable hotels in New York City for families and business travelers alike.

We appreciate your feedback and truly hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Box House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We came to New York to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary, we had a room upgrade which we were pleased about it!. We loved the location and preferred this rather than being more central. We used the free taxi cab service which we found very useful. The room was spacious, clean and we loved the freedom of having the kitchen. The only disappointment with the room was the bathroom which was quite basic, only had a shower but it was clean. We only found the reception staff to be average and they did not wow us with great service, which is a shame but because we liked the hotel we would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay again but...... On our last night my husband was poorly in the night ( must have caught a bug). Check out was at 11am but our flight was not till 18:30, I rang and asked if we could keep the room for a longer than the 11am check out. They said yes but would have to charge us for an extra night. I checked with them that the hotel was not full, which is was not, but my husband felt so ill that I agreed to this. We actually left the room at about 14:30 but they still charged us for the extra day. I feel upset that they made us pay for an extra day and feel that they took advantage of my husband being so ill. If they felt the need to charge us then charging us for a half day would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHouseHotel, Manager at The Box House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for the many kind words. We would like to assure you that once your situation regarding your husband’s illness was reported to management, we decided not to charge you for an additional night or any additional charges at all for that matter. Please check your credit card statement and if there are any discrepancies please let us know immediately. Also, we wanted you to know that the majority of our Loft Suites have bathtubs but some units have showers to meet ADA requirements so they are wheelchair accessible. In the future please let us know that you would like a room with a tub and we will accommodate you in any way possible. We are honored you chose The Box House Hotel as your destination for such a glorious occasion and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
The Box House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room was really large, well decorated and had everything we would want.
Our room faced the Pulaski bridge and we did not notice undue noise.
The cars were very convenient and drivers very knowledgeable and helpful.
Front office staff were very welcoming and youthful.
Lovely accommodation at a fraction of the price which we would pay across the river in Manhattan.
Very satisfied customer who hopes to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Box House Hotel is beautiful!! We loved our stay!! The room was beautiful. The location was awesome; loved the Taxi cab rides, very convenient and the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. One thing about the location...if you're visiting NYC to go to shows and out to the clubs, the Box House Hotel may be a little inconvenient to get back and forth, but, if you're just going to NYC to sight see and you're going to leave the hotel in the morning and be gone all day, this is the PERFECT place!! My only complaint...I wish the car service ran later to the subway station, or when the car service is not running, perhaps hand the guests a card with the number of a few cab services. We tried to call Java Car Service when we got to the train station late one night and got NO service at all!! Luckily we found a cab. The hotel is not far from the Greenpoint Station on the G train; definitely within walking distance; however, at night, 3 girls alone, it's a little scary to walk down Box St. in the dark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Large, 2 bedroom apartment perfectly suited our four person family with two children under eleven. The cab service is great, and was a real save for travel to and from the 7 train. Great eats, with many that deliver in this area of Brooklyn. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: The heater is noisy, and if you are sleeping in a room nearest the hall, bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Plusses - The hotel is very well appointed, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. On check in you recieve a guide to the areas eateries, which is a bonus as you would not really want to go hunting. The rooms are very well designed, and the kitchen areas have coffee machines, dishwashers and plenty of cupboard space. It's effectively a studio apartment, and a very nice one at that. The hotel would benefit from a bar, just in case you don't want to venture out. The issue with the terrace is that the city views are a bit suspect, ours was of the side of the Polaski bridge, and the fencing makes it feel a bit claustrophobic. I am sure it would be great in the summer with a beer. The cab service is a really nice touch, and the drivers are very friendly. Issues with our first room were rectified straight away with a room change, as the original room looked like it hadn't been used in a while. Greenpointe is pretty urban, and outside of the bars/restaurants there wasn't a ton to do, so we took the ferry back into Manhattan, but all in all this was a great way to "do" Brooklyn. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Box House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Box House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.