We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in NY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NY Moore Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NY Moore Hostel to your Saves list
NY Moore Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   179 Moore Street, Brooklyn, NY 11206   |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Hostel in NY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here over the holidays last year in 2011. It was one of the best experiences I had in hostels I've stayed in the US & Canada... The staff are friendly. The hostel has the perfect combination of cozy & fun. They were renovating and constructing parts of the hostel at the time, I'm sure it looks even better now. I do not think you will find a better deal in NY. Very close to the subway station. Huge beds, free wifi, towels... a nice hangout zone is their living room with a TV and computer. Roberta's is a few mins away. I will definitely stay there if I go to NY again. I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been here twice and I will never regret it. You have the easygoing atmosphere like in over hostels but here you have it in a comfortable and cozy living-room :) The whole hostel is clean and cushy. The Bedrooms (dorm) are really big !!! Everybody will find his/her private zone and the beds are very comfortable and even big enough for a 6'5"-guy. The staff is helpful and friendly and they all will help out if sth. is needed or you need an advice for nightlife, sightseeing or anything else. The Bar-Map they've created is awesome !!! So many good Bars here in Williamsburg that you forget thinkin about visiting a Manhatten Bar :)

Overall ... This is one of the best Hostels I've ever been to and I will definitely recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: The 6-Bed-Dorms are the best ones I've seen around the world!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I spent there only one noght but I think I will always remember this place :) The location mb is not really lovely but it's very very good inside. People are communicationg with each other, the inrerior is lovely and this hostel is CLEAN! Staff is also very nice and friendly. I definately recommend it to the people who want to hve a nice place to stay and to make new friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manizales, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great place to visit Manhattan. Close to a subway station, really big rooms with vintage furniture, private bathroom, excellent staff friendly and helpful. Free WiFi and acces to computers, water and coffee. I definitely would come back and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

After a 5 week trip around the States I had the good fortune to stay at the NY Moore Hostel. The location is fine, looks a little dodgy but it all good. The staff are great, they enjoy their work and really like to engage with everyone. A BBQ and Keg was put on to celebrate the 4th of July and a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed both here and around the corner at NY loft hostel, and the Moore definitely took the cake! The staff are absurdly friendly and the beds are not bunks and are quite comfy. Only downside is there is no breakfast and the kitchen is not equipt enough to be called a kitchen. Otherwise, what are you waiting for? This hostel rules!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights, my first hostel experience abroad. Dorm was big with 8 single beds, each with a decent amount of personal space. The bathroom was ensure and also pretty big. As an early riser I didn't have much problem getting a shower, and there is another one out in the common area if needed.
The common area was big enough and never seemed full, and wifi networks through out plus free computers a bonus. Only real negative was No kitchen, and just about room in fridge to store a few bits. Cafe and small deli down the road (bagel and coffee for $3) and 2 subway stations in easy walking distance. I walked into manhattan (1 hour ish) and got the subway (15-30 mins) both were easy.
Room mates were considerate and only really came in to go to bed, so maybe I got lucky there.
Glad they haven't crammed lots of beds in, and have kept it "small" with room for the guests they have.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NY Moore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NY Moore Hostel

Address: 179 Moore Street, Brooklyn, NY 11206
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — NY Moore Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NY Moore Hostel. We are a very good choice if your are looking for a quiet, secure, clean space which is conveniently close to New York City. There are two close subway stations and Bus line. Only 15 minutes to Manhattan. Every room is designed based on your unique needs. We have different spaces for different needs. Spacious and Huge rooms for Families or couples Private rooms for couple one- two or three queen bed up to 8. Either if you are traveling alone or with a company, we have what you are looking for. Our rates are affordable and our availability is flexible. Excellent location in Brooklyn 15 minutes to Manhattan. 5 minutes to L N M train Flushing and Montrose avenue 25 Minutes to JFK International airport. 20 Minutes to LaGuardia airport. 10 Minutes to Brooklyn downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Budget Places, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NY Moore Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NY Moore Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.