We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201 (Formerly Hotel 718)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Opened in August 2012. Small rooms, but well appointed. Room was clean and quiet. Queen bed was comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff. Emerging neighborhood, but safe walking at night. Easy walk to good restaurants on on Smith Street. Easy walk Borough Hall MTA stop for access to Manhattan or other parts of Long Island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience at Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. I will share your feedback with our team, as they will be delighted to hear this from you.

Please feel free to contact me direct for future accommodations.

Thank you,

Jason D’Agostino- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    88
    45
    17
    22
See reviews for
38
65
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed in the two bedroom and loved every minute of it! Staff was outstanding and very helpful. Close to a subway stop and even closer to Junior's Cheesecake. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We at the Hotel Indigo appreciate your feedback. Our convenient location offers spectacular views which you have noted.

Feel free to contact me direct for future reservations.

Thank you,
Jason D’Agostino- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was easy to find and within walking distance of my meeting near Barclay's Center. I had some trouble getting the rate I requested at booking, because the front desk staff at checkin and checkout were not authorized to change the reservation and there was no manager on duty. When I finally got in touch with a manager she was extremely attentive and handled the situation impeccably. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to share your great experiences here at the Hotel Indigo Brooklyn.

Feel free to contact us directly for future reservations.

Thank you,

Jason D’Agostino- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I was thoroughly impressed with the staff from check in until check out. They were very professional and nothing like the ore negative reviews stated. The rooms were quite tiny compared to other hotels I've stayed in, in the past; however the cleanliness and chic-ness of Asian styled rooms impressed me and my daughter alot!! The shower was fabulous and the only complaint I had was I could not comfortably stand at the sink and brush my teeth, I had to stand sideways, but I was still able too. I like the fact that there is a restaurant and bar onsite so you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner if you choose not to eat out. The food is SCRUMPTIOUS and so are the libations!! You should stay here as it is a wonderful experience and the construction was not as horrible as reviewers stated (and I am a very light sleeper!)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Our team and I truly appreciate you sharing your experiences here at the Hotel Indigo Brooklyn.
Feel free to contact us directly for future reservations.

Thank you,


Jason D’Agostino- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location for meetings at Brooklyn Tabernacle. Loved the decor, friendly helpful staff. Room was miniature but had everything we needed. Not a 5 because the maid "missed" our room and we had to ask for clean linens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

As the new General Manager of the Hotel Indigo Brooklyn, I want to thank you for staying with us.

I have reviewed your comment regarding Housekeeping and will look into this personally.

Please contact me direct for any other questions or future reservations.

Thank you,

Jason D’Agostino- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sand Lake, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Neighborhood: This Hotel Indigo is in a busy, bussling, eclectic location. There is lots of stores for shopping, including a Macy's just a block away. There are many places to eat, including chain restaurants, small specialty food shops and a Brooklyn favorite, Juniors-which is known for their delicious cheesecakes is two blocks away. There is some construction going on but just ask staff to put you on the other side of the building where you can't hear it, I'm sure they would be more than happy to honor your request. This hotel is also walking distance from the Brooklyn Bridge. You can walk over the bridge to the Manhattan side if you wanted exercise or just to see the great views. The hotel is also close to most main subway stations. The closest is the 3 and 2 train, which can have you in Manhattan in just two stops.

Staff and Hotel Common Areas: When I arrived at the hotel the Guest Services Manager, Ms. Christol Keane was standing at the front desk greeting guest at they arrived. She was very nice and recognized my Platinum membership immediately, which I thought was awesome! The young lady that checked me in was also very nice as well, I was upgraded and put in one of the King suites on the 19th floor. Before I talk about the room, I must state that the check-in area was very chic and well designed. The color scheme was very nice, with a couple of big chairs for folks that were waiting. They even had Sparkling Cider and glasses for guests to help themselves-a very nice touch! They also have a bar called the Brewhouse, they are open til 4 am on weekends and 2 am during the week. I went there and the bartender and other staff was great, including the food.

Room: I absolutely loved my room! The color scheme was black/ white/grey and red-very romantic. I had a king bed (everything was plush and comfy) and the room could be sectioned off from the living room. The couch had a pullout bed, which my father used and thought was comfortable. The bathroom was very large and impeccably clean. There was even a small kitchen and desk area for doing work. There was two televisions, one in the bedroom and another in the living room. Down the hall from my room was the terrace, there was tables and chairs and if the weather were better I would have definitely taken advantage of it. It would be a perfect place for having a drink and gazing at the amazing skyline.

From my review I think you can I loved this hotel. It's very close to Manhattan and easy to get to, so people from out of town won't feel like staying there is out of the way to all the major tourist locations. last but not least a small detail that I thought was nice, right next door to the hotel was the Planet Fitness Gym, it is open very late and the bright lights totally illuminate the street, so when returning from a late night out you don't feel like you are walking down a creepy dark street.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Try to request a room on the opposite side of Duffield Street, where there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, General Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property with fellow travelers.

As noted by you and other travelers, our location is ideal for travel into Manhattan.
I will share your feedback with our team, specifically your comments regarding our Guest Service Manager.

With service as a TOP priority, it is wonderful to hear such experiences. Please contact us directly for your future visits to the area.

Thank you,

Jason D’Agostino- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We chose to stay in Brooklyn mainly because the price was cheaper than in Manhattan (Easter week-end). After we had stayed at two not-extraordinary hotels in NY and Washington this holiday, we were really surprised when we arrived. Very cool boutique hotel. Brand new. Fancy lobby. Very welcoming staff. The room was extremely elegant and modern. (11th floor) Great bed with good duvet. Slept really well. The bathroom was supermodern.
We had breakfast around the corner. Good american place with good prices. But it would be an advantage if the hotel served breakfast.
I missed a hairdryer in the bathroom and the coffee-maker in the room did not work.
As the hotel did not have their own parking, we used the valet parking they offered. Very convenient and easy when we arrived - but the next morning we had to wait 40 minutes for them to pick up the car. Very unsatisfying!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888JasonD, Social Media Intern at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We sincerely apologize for the

inconvenience that you experienced during your staying. However, we appreciate that you

enjoyed your accommodation.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,

Chelsea – Social Media Intern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo

Address: 229 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201 (Formerly Hotel 718)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.