We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Steakhouse

Amber Steakhouse
119 Nassau Ave, Ste 1, Brooklyn, NY 11222-4282
718-389-3757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 4,515 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ordered ribeye mashed potatoes and spinach with mushroom. Everything wascggod.For a goodcsteak closevyobhome it cant get any better

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

They have a good steak at a reasonable price, comparing to their neighborhood places. I love their mash potato which is going well with steak. The mussels are too bland but their bread is also nice. Service is great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a small and intimate family wedding supper at Amber Steakhouse the other day. The restaurant is nicely decorated and comfortable. We were treated very well by our waitstaff, who were very attentive and friendly. The appetizers and entrees were delicious. Some in our party had steak, which was cooked to perfection while others had delicious seafood dishes. Very nice presentation as well. Cocktails, wine and drafts were nice sized and reasonable. We can't comment much on dessert since we brought our own cake, but the staff served it graciously with coffee. The bathrooms were spotless and private.
Very satisfied and would definitely visit Amber again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
“Great Food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had the pan seared chicken which was cooked perfectly and not dried out like most. Absolutely loved the French onion Soup! The deserts were to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best steak so far in NYC - and VALUE too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Ok, so we haven't tried Peter Luger, but after having had steaks at many of the big name chain steakhouses around Manhattan and the outer boroughs (Smith and Wolinsky, Morton's, Ruth's Chris, The Palm, BLT, etc), we were floored when we tasted the steaks from this little Brooklyn gem in Greenpoint. There were 3 of us and we tried the 8oz filet mignon, New York strip, and the Ribeye bone-in. Each one of the steaks was fantastically marinated and flavorful. The steak portions were very generous. Best part - they were about $30 each (hard to find those prices anywhere in the city for this type of quality steaks! Aside from the tasty steaks that were definitely pleasing, the bill was another pleasant surprise. For 3 appetizers, 3 steaks, 3 sides, 3 desserts, 3 beers, AND a bottle of wine....the bill was $200. Staff was extremely nice and polite - never any attitude from anyone. When they got busy they checked in on our table a little less frequently, but as quickly as they could they would return. The atmosphere was very comfortable and not stuffy or pretentious at all. this was a saturday night dinner at peak time and the dress code seemed very casual. A reservation on friday and saturday nights would probably be a good idea.
This was quite a find so we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Amber Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.